Skip to content

LOVE My Morning Runs!

I love waking up in the mornings during summer and just hitting the pavement! It’s peaceful, warm, usually a beautiful sunrise to watch, and the best way to wake up and start your day. I usually prepare a pot of the coffee the night before and set the timer, so that by the time I wake up, brush my teeth, and make my bed, the coffee is done and the kitchen smells delicious. Coffee, music, and water and I’m ready to ROCK. Early morning runs are usually the ones that I just go, because I’m usually still half asleep and I don’t have time to think about it, which I love. Sometimes the mileage is planned, but when I’m on vacation or in Nantucket (like I am now), I kind of just go freely and see where it takes me. Running while on vacation is FUN. 

Source 

Yes I workout and run while on vacation, because I enjoy it, it makes me feel good, and after a night of dining out and possibly too many cocktails, it nice to just sweat it out and reboot! I will do it first thing in the morning and then have the rest of the day to lounge around, relax, read, and soak up the sun. I don’t train as hard as I usually do, but I like to remain active, whether it’s running, walking, or casually swimming I like to move! Plus it’s a great way to explore new places and meet new people.  

Friday was a early morning and a long day! Up at 6:00 AM, I trained 3 clients in a row and then hit the road with Kala to head up to Nantucket. 4 1/2 hour drive + 1 hour ferry ride and we finally made it on the island at 6:00 PM. We hit the beach for a evening swim, threw some dinner together, and then called it a night. Kala was already snoring at 9:00 PM. 

As I sit on our deck this Saturday morning, while sipping coffee, and watching the sun start to peek out of the clouds, it’s time for me to fuel up with some breakfast and hit the pavement and enjoy a morning run on beautiful Nantucket Island. Have a beautiful day and enjoy the weekend! 

Do you workout while on vacation? 

22 Comments Post a comment
  1. You make your bed before you run? Wow, ha I just roll out and get going. 🙂
    Love the pics, looks like a beautiful area to run in. And, I do run when I go on vacation, I make sure to get my workouts in as much as I can.

    July 14, 2012
    • HA! Yes I’m weird like that! I hate not making my bed before I head out the door for a run or training clients. 🙂 Good for you to sticking to your workouts!

      July 14, 2012
  2. Kalli and Bill #

    i love so many things about this post! love that you run in the morning like i do, love that you may have had a few too many cocktails the night before, love kala!-her hair on her neck and head is so cute I want to reach out and pet her so bad! have a great weekend girl!

    July 14, 2012
    • You are the BEST! Thanks for the sweet comments! Someday woman we will have a run together and a few too many glasses of vino! xoxo

      July 14, 2012
  3. I am a morning runner too! I definitely do NOT make my bed though…because my hubby is still sleeping in it lol! I run pretty early…around 4:45am. Even though waking up that early is hard I love to run in the morning because it makes my day so much better! And yes…I DO run on vacation! We went to Disney World last summer and I made sure to get a few runs in! Have a great weekend!

    July 14, 2012
    • HA! Love that everyone comments about making the bed. Too funny! High-Fives to morning runners! 🙂

      July 14, 2012
  4. angienewton #

    When we go on vacation, I usually try to workout. If we are on a beach/Caribbean vacation, we snorkel 3 times a day plus swim so that is a nice workout but we also stay at a resort that is spread out so we get our exercise in by walking back and forth from one end to the other a couple times a day. They also have a great fitness center so sometimes we make it over to that.

    July 14, 2012
    • Awesome! Good for you for staying on track… I also love doing activities that are fun and active. You forget you are working out! 🙂

      July 14, 2012
  5. One of the best things about maintaining your workout routine while on holidays is not coming back and feeling terrible! If I take a week or two away from exercise, the first week back is always so hard. If I feel like slacking off on vacation, I remind myself of the steep slope back I’ll be facing later. Usually, it works 😉

    July 14, 2012
    • HA! It’s so true. I just came back from a run and heading to the beach. I feel so much better, even though it was hard and honestly I didn’t feel like doing it. I know I won’t regret it later. Have a great Sunday and thanks for stopping by!

      July 15, 2012
  6. I don’t make my bed because my husband usually is still in it! And, I can’t have coffee first — I would linger too long.

    July 14, 2012
    • HA! Lingering is never good on early morning runs, but I need that coffee and it definitely gives me some extra energy!

      July 15, 2012
  7. Ali from MSPRun.com #

    Absolutely! I just got back from visiting my mom in MA and ran almost everyday, and raced. I think it’s a nice change-up too from my regular routes. When I travel internationally, I generally only stay on property or ship to work out because I’m not comfortable finding my way around. I have heard though, some cruise lines (like Disney) actually host a 5K on their private island on each cruise!

    I’ve also started to plan my vacations around races. I have an upcoming half marathon at Disneyland, and booked my cruise around it so I could race.

    July 14, 2012
    • That’s so funny that you mention the Disney cruise, because my client just came back from it and ran the 5K on the private island! She said it was great! It’s fun to book races while on vacation, it gives me an excuse to travel more. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

      July 15, 2012
  8. I love running on vacation– it’s a great way to check out your new surrounds while getting sweaty 🙂

    July 14, 2012
    • So true! It’s such a nice change up from your usual routes! Hope you are having a fabulous weekend! 🙂

      July 15, 2012
  9. Meghan #

    There’s so much about this post that I love – I love the morning run (no matter how much I hate the morning alarm); I love the thought of running in Nantucket with the smell of salt water and sand. I also adore your breakfast photos. It’s the simple things in life that bring pleasure, and this post is all about them.

    July 15, 2012
    • Thanks for the sweet comments Meghan! Running, salt water, sea air, and yummy breakfast make life AMAZING! It is the simple things that bring pleasure.

      July 16, 2012
  10. I love morning runs! Just finished mine 🙂 I always make my bed before I leave for work, but not before I work out. 🙂 I at least try to get in walks on my vacations. I recently went on vacation with my brothers family and we shared a condo, which was open space. I couldn’t do anything inside, so I would always take it outside. 🙂

    July 16, 2012
    • NICE! Morning runs are the best…Thanks for stopping by and have a great day! 🙂

      July 16, 2012
  11. I love morning runs, it’s the 4:30am alarm I am not a fan of. I always run or workout while on vacation. It helps me feel balanced.

    July 20, 2012
    • WOW 4:30 AM is very very early! Fully impressed by that wake up time for a run! High-Fives!

      July 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

