Skip to content

Blue Crush + Protein Pancake Recipe

One of the places that I LOVE the most in life is the OCEAN! Give me salt water, sand, and sun and I am one happy girl! I’ve been so grateful to have vacationed and lived by the sea. It’s an addiction and one that will not go away. I love my beach hair and how it’s salty, messy, and has a mind of its own. I love opening my book and a few pieces of sand fall out. And I love the way the sun and salt water make my skin and body feel so clean, bronzed, and natural. After my mini-getaway last weekend, both Kala and I have been through some serious withdrawal. It didn’t help either, that I totally got sucked into watching “Blue Crush” late Saturday night. Yes it is a total chick flick, but I am a sucker for surfers. Honestly, how can you not be? Surfing is such a great workout. Plus, I think that it is the best that Kate Bosworth has looked. Her body in that movie was strong, sexy, and rocking. She is WAY too thin these days… Anyway…When I lived in Encinitas, CA surfing and running were my workouts. Almost every day after work, I’d come home; load my surfboard on my car; and hit the waves for about 2 hours. Killer workout, peace of mind, and possibly checking out the other surfers…not a bad workout at all! Just saying…

Kala and I are both HUGE fans of the sand and salt and the ocean is whispering our name again, so it looks like it is possibly time for another getaway. I mean it is summer and life is short, so I’m following my bliss and heading there at the end of the week, because it’s time to live with no regrets and just do it. What is your crush?


On another note, I’ve been whipping up some delicious batches of my Protein Pancakes and have been posting them around social media and have been getting lots of responses and questions on how I make these delicious bad boys. So I’ve included my recipe below. Don’t get frustrated. It took me some practice and experimenting with flavors, measurements, etc. until I finally got the blend that works for ME. Give it a shot and let me know how it goes, because I love hearing from you! Even send me a picture! 

She Rocks Fitness Protein Pancakes

  • 1 scoop whey protein ( I use unflavored protein powder)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T chia
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 T unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 large splashes of water
  • 1 serving of fruit
  • 1 “heaping” T of nut butter

Directions:

  • Mix dry ingredients in a bowl;
  • Add egg, unsweetened almond milk, and water;
  • Use a whisk to blend well;
  • Heat up frying pan to medium – high heat and then spray with Pam;
  • Add mixture to pan (I like to add 1/2 of fruit to the batter) wait about 3-5 minutes and then flip;
  • Wait another 3 minutes and then remove from heat and add remaining fruit and nut butter!

Breakfast is served! This is a healthy, balanced, and delicious way to start your day and it can be ready in under 20 minutes, so no excuses that you didn’t have time to eat. Get up a few minutes earlier and make it happen. Happy Monday!

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Deepika Chauhan #

    OhMyYUM! 🙂 can I sub the chia for ground flaxseed? Thanks 🙂

    July 9, 2012
  2. Deepika Chauhan #

    OhMyYUM 🙂 can I sub the chia for ground flaxseed?
    Thanks 🙂

    July 9, 2012
    • Yes, I’ve done that before as well and tastes just as good. Enjoy!

      July 9, 2012
  3. I live near the ocean and can’t stomach the thought of not being within a 20 minute drive to water freaks me out a little. I totally get it.

    July 9, 2012
  4. This protein pancake sounds delicious! Do you use the whole egg or just the egg white?

    July 9, 2012
    • I use the whole egg! Try it out and let me know how it goes…They are delicious! 🙂

      July 9, 2012
  5. Kalli and Bill #

    i LOVE that picture of Kala!

    July 9, 2012
  6. Those pancakes are making me drooooool!

    July 9, 2012
    • HA! They are the BEST…but of course with that “heaping” T of nut butter it takes it to whole other level of drool worthy status. 😉

      July 9, 2012
  7. I absolutely LOVE being at the beach…i would live there if i could afford it! Cant wait to try these pancakes, i have one that is my go-to, but i haven’t tried using chia or a nut butter in them.

    July 9, 2012
    • I add the nut butter on top, not in the mix! Let me know how they turn out. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      July 9, 2012
  8. Thanks for posting this recipe! I am definitely going to give it a try soon, you make them look so good!

    July 9, 2012
    • Thanks Lauren! Receiving recipe compliments from you means a lot. 🙂 Let me know how it turns out!

      July 9, 2012
  9. Meg #

    Awwww girl ❤ I love when you give a little personal touch to your posts 🙂 Always love learning more about you sweetie!!!!! Ahhhh yes, the beach is so relaxing. I hope I live closer to one when I am "grown up" hahahahaha!

    Your pancakes look great my dear! Glad you found what works for you!

    July 10, 2012
    • Your comments always make me smile! This was a great way to start my Tuesday morning…Thanks darling and I hope you are doing well! Have a great day and talk soon! xoxo

      July 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

