Skip to content

The Blonde Ponytail KILLER WORKOUT

Happy Friday! I’m beyond excited to have a guest post today from the fabulous Jess who is the author of the Blonde Ponytail! She’s a ROCK STAR! Her workouts are KILLER; her body is amazing; she is dedicated to health and fitness; and she owns a ridiculously adorable Golden Retriever. Make sure you check out her website and give this workout a try. You will not be disappointed!  I hope that everyone has a fabulous weekend! Please make sure to stay hydrated and wear sunscreen. See y’all on Monday and let me know how you feel after trying this out! THANKS AGAIN JESS! 

Hi She Rocks readers!  I’m Jess and the author of Blonde Ponytail.  I am so excited to “meet” you as Kathleen is one of my fitness and healthy living inspirations.  She lives it, breathes it and owns it!

I’m a NSCACSCS and certified Spinning instructor. I work full-time in higher education but my husband and I just relocated for his job (he’s a college baseball coach) so I’m currently looking!

As a former collegiate athlete, I like being challenged and testing my limits even now. My philosophy with working out is the same. Go hard, give it your all, and reap the benefits.

I balance my HIIT (high intensity interval training) workouts with of running and spinning—you can’t exert max effort all the time!

Kathleen asked me to share one of my favorite workouts. Because I am a runner first, I tend to incorporate sprints into many of my circuits. My husband and I did this workout while traveling; he is my best workout buddy!

Out of the ‘Box’ WOD (workout of the day)

Run 800m (.5 miles)

10 push-ups

20 air squats

30 full sit-ups

Repeat 6 times

Workout totals:  3 miles, 60 push-ups, 120 squats, and 180 sit-ups.

If running isn’t your thing, I have plenty of at-home workouts for you too.  Balance is key so don’t be a cardio queen without strengthening those muscles too.

Thank you for reading and feel free to contact me with questions or a friendly (virtual) visit!

Blog: www.blondeponytail.com

Twitter: @blondeponytail

Email: blondeponytail@hotmail.com

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. great workout! thanks for sharing Jess!

    July 6, 2012
    • Thanks for stopping by Nicole! I hope you are doing well and staying cool this weekend. It’s HOT out there and supposed to be even worse tomorrow. Yikes! Have a great weekend! 🙂

      July 6, 2012
  2. LOVE Jess!!! She’s an athlete for sure!

    July 6, 2012
    • Her muscles are REDUNKULOUS! HA! Have a great weekend Lindsay and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      July 6, 2012
  3. Whew – sounds like a tough one! 🙂 I love WODs I can do at home.

    July 6, 2012
    • Her workouts are never easy! HA! Make sure you report back after you do this. I hope you are doing well and have a great weekend! 🙂

      July 6, 2012
  4. Thanks for letting me “meet” your readers Katie! Honored to do a post for you!

    July 6, 2012
    • I’m honored to have met you and collaborate with you! You are a rock star Jess and thanks again for sharing with my readers. It means a lot to me. Have a great weekend and stay cool. Hugs to Cooper! 😉

      July 6, 2012
  5. This sounds awesome (and friggin hard too!) Can’t wait to try it out. Great guest post!! 🙂

    July 6, 2012
    • Thanks Angela! Make sure you let me know how the workout goes and have a fabulous weekend…stay cool wherever you may be! 🙂

      July 6, 2012
  6. This timing is so perfect. I coach high school cross country and my husband (and co-coach) and I were just discussing making some changes in how we incorporate strength training. This will be a great addition to our program! Thanks.

    July 6, 2012
    • AWESOME! Let me know how it goes and thanks for stopping by. Have a wonderful weekend and talk soon! 🙂

      July 6, 2012
  7. i LOVE track workouts! I’m definitely going to give this one a try!

    July 8, 2012
    • AWESOME! Please let me know how it goes…I always love hearing about how people like/dislike the workouts I post. Have a great day!

      July 8, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Fitness Friday: Highlighting New Workouts!
  2. New GNC Workout: Lean Legs - Blonde Ponytail

Leave a Reply

