Skip to content

Denver Photo Shoot 2012

I’m beyond thrilled to write this post about my photo shoot that I had in Denver a few weeks ago! It was a HUGE success and couldn’t be more thrilled with the way I looked and how the photos turned out. I of course could not have done this without the help of 2 amazing people. The hard work, sweat, and clean eating truly paid off and I ROCKED it! Why in Denver you may wonder, when I live all the way in New Jersey? I planned this trip so that I could surprise my wonderful friend Jocelyn, have a mini-vacation, and work with Mark Cafiero and Lacey Klein. The goal of this shoot is to use these photos for marketing purposes, social media, and even possibly get into fitness modeling. It had been a year since the last shoot I did and it was time to update some of my photos. Click on the link at the end of the post to see some of the images…

I worked with Mark before, when I was living in Denver. He did my first photo shoot at Red Rocks, almost 3 years ago. I look back at some of those pictures and I look like a different person. It’s amazing how my body, confidence, and overall look has changed. It was such a different chapter in my life. I am so much happier and it shows. So let’s talk about how I prepared for this shoot both nutritionally and physically:

Nutritionally: My good friend Lauren helped me come up with a eating plan, that would help meet my goals. This was a 2 week plan that I have used before and loved the results that I was able to accomplish. Please note that this is not sustainable for long periods of time. The lack of carbohydrates was really hard on me towards the last few days, which is a sign that YES you do need carbohydrates! Did I mention I ate a enormous PBJ 1-Minute after the shoot? HA! Below are the foods that I consumed a LARGE amount of. The foods that I eliminated for these 2 weeks were: salt, sugar, oatmeal, brown rice, pasta, bread, and milk. I felt great the first week, but towards the end of the second week, my body was tired, hungry, and cranky. 2 weeks was plenty of time and I was ready to get back to my regular eating habits. HA!

  • Eggs
  • Whey Protein
  • Almonds
  • Vegetables: I’m surprised I didn’t turn into a leafy green! I ate so many veggies!
  • Greek Yogurt
  • Chicken Breasts
  • Salmon
  • Tuna
  • Berries
  • Apples

 Physically: I trained hard! Since I wasn’t consuming many carbohydrates, long distance training took a back burner. My workouts included strength training, the Step Mill, and hot Vinysasa. I was doing lots of squat jumps, mountain climbers, jump rope, and heavy weights with low repetitions. I should have also kept track of all the planks I did. HA! Training this way was a nice refresher from my usual workouts and my muscles responded well to the change. My typical workouts were about 75 minutes.    

Of course I was decked in Lululemon gear! I pretty much live in their clothing, so why not ROCK it for the photo shoot? the swimsuit bottoms are adorable, flattering, and so comfortable. I’ve already worn these a couple of times to the pool. And thanks to the beautiful Lacey Klein for doing my hair and makeup! Lacey and I met when I lived in Denver and I was so excited to actually work with her. She’s an amazing woman and if you are in the Denver area you need to look her up…she ROCKS! 

Check them out…Let me know your thoughts!

http://www.photograndeur.com/?p=463

I hope everyone had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend and I’ll see you on Wednesday! Have a great start to the short week!

41 Comments Post a comment
  1. You look great Kathleen! Be sure to put them up on Flickr and a few other sites to get picked up. Also do you have an account with Model Mayhem? Good exposure, a few good photographers, plus a few creepy ones!

    May 29, 2012
    • Thanks Brad for your support! I do have an account on Model Mayhem, but have run into a lot of creeps. HA! I’ll check out Flickr too…

      May 29, 2012
  2. WOW What beautiful photos! What a beautiful star 🙂 Your hard work certainly did pay off–you look like a rock star. Love the dress, too!

    (When I took out breads & other wheats, 2 weeks was when I slumped, too–but then a week later recovered and was back to normal.)

    Thanks for sharing your photos. Hope they bring you what you’re looking for!

    May 29, 2012
    • Thanks Meredith for your kind words! I love food and doing endurance training with no carbs is just not fun…Glad I’m back to my normal routine. It feels good and I also hope these photos take me where I want to go too. 🙂

      May 29, 2012
  3. Wow those photos are fantastic! Nice job sweat pink sister, you look great! I love the yoga pants you wore… which lulu ones were they?

    May 29, 2012
    • Thanks Megan! I actually wore those pants to yoga this morning…They are the “wonder under” crops! I have them in black as well. AWESOME and worth every penny! xoxo #sweatpink

      May 29, 2012
  4. congrats girl! you look great!!!

    May 29, 2012
  5. YOU look amazing!!

    May 29, 2012
    • THANKS KATE as always for your support and encouragement! xoxo Hope you are doing well and had a lovely long weekend!

      May 29, 2012
  6. Ooooo, lookat’ dat hottie with a body! 😉 Great pics. You’re practically glowing!

    May 29, 2012
    • HA! You crack me up! Thanks Girl and hope all is well with you and you had a great Memorial Day weekend! xoxo

      May 29, 2012
  7. Meg #

    Absolutely beautiful sweetheart! Just as I expected 😉 And you are right, you DO look so happy and full of confidence! You are very inspiring hun. I love you to pieces!

    I would love to do something like this!

    May 29, 2012
    • Thanks Meg as always! You are such a sweetheart…and you should do something like this! 🙂 Why not? xoxo

      May 29, 2012
  8. Ahhh I loveeee those pictures! You look phenomenal and so happy! 🙂

    May 29, 2012
    • THANKS! Glad that my happiness shows…it’s so important to be happy both inside and out. It has taken me a while to get to this point, but I’m there and feeling blessed! xoxo

      May 29, 2012
  9. Kalli and Bill #

    wow you look amazing!!!!!!!! and the pics are beautiful. how did you get so defined? especially your abs and shoulders! I swoon!

    May 29, 2012
    • YEAH! Thanks Kalli…Lots of sweat, discipline, and lack of carbs! I wasn’t able to do long distance running, which was sad, so now that I’m eating carbs again it feels so good to RUN long. Going on another long run tomorrow AM. WAHOO! Thanks for the compliments and support! xoxo

      May 29, 2012
  10. Stunning. You dedication definitely paid off! You inspire me!

    May 29, 2012
    • THANKS JESS for your kind words and support! Hope you are doing well! xoxo

      May 29, 2012
  11. Lauren #

    Wow! Just Amazing, Katie! You are stunning, and strong! Okay, baby is napping, so I’m going to rip out a work out now…thank you for the inspiration! xo

    May 29, 2012
    • HA! Glad I am inspiring you…Let me know how that workout went and always keep me posted on your progress and whether you have any questions or need help. I’m here for you woman! xoxo

      May 29, 2012
  12. Great! You can def see how much more confident you are in the second picture. ABS O STEEL!

    May 29, 2012
    • THANK YOU…That means so much to me! xoxo

      May 29, 2012
  13. I just clicked through from Twitter… You look amazing! I’m adding you to my reader 🙂

    May 29, 2012
    • YEAH! So glad that you found me and thanks for the follow…Looking forward to it! Hope you had a wonderful long weekend! 🙂

      May 29, 2012
  14. Wow girl! That’s sure inspiring. You look so strong and fit. Looks like all your hard work paid off. Wishing you well on reaching your dreams. I think you’d make a perfect fitness model. Tell Lululemon I said so! 😉

    May 29, 2012
    • THANKS for the sweet compliments! It means a lot to me! 🙂

      May 30, 2012
  15. Katie, you look wonderful! You look younger and more vibrant in your more recent photos. You should really be proud of yourself for all your hard work and dedication. You have come a long way ;-).

    May 29, 2012
    • Thanks Lauren for all of your help and support along this journey! You’ve been such a great friend in so many ways. Hope you are feeling better!

      May 30, 2012
  16. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes #

    So beautiful and inspiring!

    May 29, 2012
  17. Gorgeous! These pictures are stunning!

    May 29, 2012
    • Thanks Emily for your compliments! Hope you are enjoying the short week and all is well in CA! 🙂

      May 30, 2012
  18. Meghan #

    The photos are amazing and the diligence and effort you put into your body for these photos (and just about every other day) are inspiring. I definitely can’t skip a workout knowing that the work outs you give me could get me 1/100th of the way to that! Congrats!

    May 30, 2012
    • Love ya girl and thanks so much for the support and kind words! Hope you are having a wonderful day! xoxo

      May 31, 2012
  19. Amy #

    You look great. Love your blog.

    May 30, 2012
    • Thanks Amy! I responded to your e-mail last night. Let me know if you have any additional questions and hopefully I can help you out. Have a great day!

      May 31, 2012
  20. Girl, you look amazing!!

    June 1, 2012
  21. lucea #

    All your hard work both inside and out really came through in his beautiful photos. If only I didn’t live in the farthest part south of NJ I would definitely have you train me.

    June 1, 2012
  22. I just found your blog. Great pictures! I see the difference from the last shoot!

    June 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

