Skip to content

Change of Plans…Roll with it!

I woke up ridiculously early on Sunday morning after a horrible nights sleep; drank a lot of coffee; put my yoga clothes on; drove to the studio; and then GOSH DARN IT I totally showed up at the wrong time! I was pretty mad, because I was looking forward to the class and planned my day around it. Instead of being Miss Cranky Pants about the situation, I figured this is a sign that I should be outside on another beautiful NJ day…The weather this weekend has been breathtaking and lots of sunshine = Happy Katie! I decided instead to take the 4:00 PM yoga class to close the weekend off with a much needed detoxifying stretch session. And was it detoxifying….picture posted below. HA! For breakfast, I whipped up a delicious Mango and Strawberry Protein Pancake with Almond Butter…YUM! And had another cup of coffee…I did hydrate with a lot of water after all of this coffee consumption. HA!

  • 1 scoop Whey Protein
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 T unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 T water
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • Handful of strawberries and sliced mango
  • 1 “heaping” T of almond butter

I laid out in the backyard and tried to work on my tan before Memorial Day weekend, while Kala rolled around and did her thing…Picked up some beautiful herbs and flowers at The Farm! Fresh basil and mint, with lots of colorful flowers to add to the mix as well. I don’t have a green thumb, but I’m working on it. Excited to use the fresh mint this summer for mojitos as well…YUMMY!Hit up the yoga studio and actually made it to the right class! The sweat was pouring out of my pores and it was EXACTLY what I needed for my mood and my hips. Thanks Emma for an awesome sweat session #PROOF! Enjoyed a delicious dinner of super fresh lettuce from a friend’s garden…a quiet evening with Kala…and possibly some bad reality TV mixed in there as well. I hope everyone had a awesome weekend and was able to spend most of it in the sun. Oh and how could I forget this conversation with my Mom this afternoon as I was helping her move a table:

Mom: “Do you know that your veins and muscles are popping out? Your arms look like Madonna’s arms!”

Katie: “Yes Mom I know my veins and biceps are popping out!”

Mom: “Do you want them to look like that?”

Katie: “Yes Mom!” HA!

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love protein pancakes 🙂 That convo with your mom is too cute! lol

    May 21, 2012
    • I eat protein pancakes 2-3 times a week. Easy, so good, healthy, and lots of combos. What’s your favorite mix?

      May 21, 2012
  2. Kalli and Bill #

    I love this post! Especially the conversation with your mom 🙂 sounds like something my mOm would say! Hope you have a great day Katie 🙂

    May 21, 2012
    • Leave it to Mom to always say things honestly and straight to the point! She has some classic lines…HA! Hope u are having a good start to the week! 🙂

      May 21, 2012
  3. Meg #

    love this post! such a cute conversation with your mom too 😉 LOVE IT!

    I need to try your pancake recipe! 🙂 yum!

    May 21, 2012
    • Yes you do! It’s easy and SO GOOD…Let me know how it turns out when you make it. Have a Happy Monday! xoxo

      May 21, 2012
    • Try the protein pancake! It’s so easy and make sure you let me know how yours turns out and what fruits and toppings you use! Have a great day!

      May 21, 2012
  4. hahahaha…I love that conversation with your mom! 🙂 Priceless.

    May 21, 2012
  5. Mmm mango on top of your pancake… just made me crave mangos.

    May 22, 2012
  6. For as much as I love yoga, I still have yet to take a hot yoga course! I bet it is awesome 🙂 And good job not letting the class time throw you out of whack!

    May 22, 2012
  7. amyfgray1106 #

    i love what your mom said! haha my mom would totally say the same thing (although im not to that point yet)

    May 23, 2012
  8. I love that your mom asked that. I’ve had friends ask me that before hah. And your protein pancake looks delicious! I’ve been loving on pancaked recently!

    May 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

