Skip to content

Mallory ROCKS…AGAIN

I’m so excited and thrilled to do another post on the ROCK STAR Mallory! I wanted to do a follow up on her, because I really admire her work ethic as a athlete and her ability to balance life, work, training, and eating well. She has a no joke schedule this summer and fall and know that she is going to kick butt in each one of these events. Another reason I also like Mallory, besides that she is a sweetheart and really fun to hang out with, she also shares a love for cupcakes and wine. Killer combination!

Enjoy this piece and feel free to send her a HIGH-FIVE for just being another kick butt female athlete! I hope y’all have a great weekend and see you on the other side, when we begin the countdown to Memorial Day! Β 

“What I think would be interesting to write about for this post would be based of a saying I saw on Pinterest a few months ago “Someone busier than you is running right now”. Honestly my year ahead of training has been chaotic, with a wedding to plan and several big races ahead I feel like at times I don’t have a moment to breathe let alone train. However that saying has kept me in line this year so far. My race schedule entails:

– Half Marathon May 6th
– Half Ironman Syracuse June 10
– Full Ironman NYC August 11
– Chicago Marathon October 7th

As you can see I have had my work cut out for me. Training for these races officially kicked of in March but is getting heavy (2Xday) starting this May. During the offseason my training was focused on the bike – working out at the Cycle Studio where you are using computrainers for simulation purposes. Not only is this a killer workout because your bike is actually hooked up to a computer simulated program but you are able to ride crazy courses like Ironman Kona and such. I have also taken on a personal trainer since last December 2-3 times per week working on strength and power – total advantage in my running and biking thus far – let’s see what happens when it comes to race time!

Other than this little fitness update, I have also found Twitter to be another inspiring tool for recipes, motivation, and just every now and again pick-me ups. What an amazing way to connect with fitness gurus of the world.”

1. Favorite Quote: One of the most applicable quotes to me personally is this: “Getting your shoes on is the hardest part of any workout.”-Kathrine Switzer

For me its the truth….just getting myself up and out the door is THE hardest part. Once I am there, I am committed and focused, but it is the initial drive I need sometimes. I could not agree more with this thought.

2. Favorite “GO TO” Recipe Before a Long Workout: Favorite meal before a long workout or before any race is ALWAYS the same: two plain pieces of whole wheat toast, one sliced banana, 2 tsps of peanut butter, drizzled with all natural honey. Perfect combination to get me started.

3. Favorite Cheat Meal: As for a cheat meal, it would be ANY type of dessert. After every big race, I can expect four cupcakes from GiGi’s from Donald. I don’t eat all at once, I do share, but I taste a little of each πŸ™‚ I’m such a glutton! I attached a picture of my favorite type “Wedding Cake”. It’s absolutely amazing.Thanks again Mallory! You are a ROCK STAR! Do you have a close friend who inspires you?

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. erickaandersen #

    I want that cupcake πŸ™‚ Totally agree with all the stuff, especially that Pinterest thing. I’ve seen that a million times and always love it. So true! Wow, a full Iron Man…can’t even imagine. Props to you girl! Rockstar πŸ™‚ –Ericka @ The Sweet Life (sweetlifeericka.com)

    May 18, 2012
  2. Good luck on your Ironman and full marathon Mallory, and of course congratulations on your wedding! That bicycle simulator you use in your workouts sounds pretty crazy, keep it up!

    June 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

