Skip to content

Oh the Single Life…

After a long weekend in Denver, I’m on the airplane writing this post and just laughing to myself. This isn’t a typical post. There will be no workouts or recipes, but more of a personal piece that takes a glimpse into my “Single Life”. I encountered some pretty comical and weird scenarios this weekend and knew I had to write about it.  Most of my friends in Denver are newlyweds, married with kids, or in serious relationships, so they are always asking about the dating scene and if I’d be okay with being set up with someone. When I start to talk about some of the dates that I’ve been on, both good and bad, they laugh, give me some advice, are very supportive, but also cannot believe some of the things that I have dealt with. So it was absolutely hilarious this weekend, when my friends got a glimpse of what I deal with as a single woman…

Source

When I left Denver almost two years ago, I had ended a serious 5-year relationship. I knew that it was time to take a break from dating and work on me! Best advice I’ve ever given myself. Being single can be hard at some points, but at this stage in my life, I am putting so much energy and passion into my business, that sometimes I just don’t have the time to give to someone else. Selfish, yes, but if I want She Rocks Fitness to be a success, it’s a sacrifice I will have to make. I do go out on dates, have fun, meet new people, and keep an open mind, but sometimes it’s hard, when you deal with a lot of cheese balls, corny pick up lines, and weird behavior.

Scenario #1

On Thursday night, Jocelyn, Elizabeth, and myself went out for a nice dinner after my photo shoot. We drank delicious wine, ate lots of yummy food, and did a lot of catching up. Both Elizabeth and Jocelyn are married with kids and were very close friends of mine when I lived in Denver. Of course dating was a topic of conversation. Jocelyn and Elizabeth both were laughing at my stories and totally thought I was exaggerating a little bit with some of the situations I’ve encountered…UNTIL we went upstairs to have one more glass of wine. HA! As soon as we walked up to the upstairs bar, we were swarmed by a group of businessmen. The first thing that came out of their mouths: “So we all work for Dairy Queen. What’s your favorite Blizzard?” SERIOUSLY??? I was dying. Jocelyn didn’t talk for about 5 minutes, because she couldn’t believe this was happening. It was so beyond cheesy and such a blatant lie. That’s really going to be your pick up line? It was even better when they asked me what I do. As soon as I said Personal Trainer, they admitted they didn’t work for Dairy Queen and then wanted fitness and nutritional advice. Too late boys….HA!

Scenario #2

My last night in Denver Jocelyn, her husband and I went to her friend’s charity event. It was a great event that was held in a garage with bluegrass music, BBQ, silent and live auction, and lots of cowboy boots. Most of the people at this event were married, but there were a very few single men. After the live auction was complete, the party was starting to wrap up. I was sitting at one of the tables and a young man came up to me and said, “I really wanted to win those Neil Diamond tickets, because you were going to be my date!” Phew a much better way to start a conversation! Good looking, funny, athletic, and also an east coaster. So far the only negative about him was that he was a Red Sox fan. We talked; Jocelyn approved; and I was pretty excited about this. But then it just got weird and fast. I asked him what his plans were after the party and he said to me “Well I’d really like to take you upstairs and have a nice conversation with you and a cocktail!” That would have been great if we weren’t in a warehouse in the middle of nowhere and I’d be there by myself. Seriously? Can we say sketchy and not safe! I suggested we go to a bar in the Cherry Creek area, which was close to Jocelyn’s home. He was very against this and then asked me how he was supposed to get home from the bar. I don’t know, CALL A CAB! I looked at him and told him that I had to get up early for my flight and was just going to head home.  Again, Jocelyn was watching this all happen and couldn’t believe it. Both our friends and their husbands were like what the heck. Another one bites the dust!

This post may have bored you, but I just had to share, because I found it comical and I am always curious to hear if other people have had similar encounters. I know that a lot of people have mixed feelings about “Sex and the City”, but now being in my 30’s and watching old episodes, there are so many dating scenarios that I have experienced, it’s become ridiculously funny to me. I’d love to hear some of yours, so please feel free to share.

It was a great weekend. The photo shoot was AMAZING and I’m so glad that I was able to see some of my closest friends. High-Fives to a new week, a very busy schedule, and lots of new posts! Have a great day and see y’all soon!

26 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kalli and Bill #

    i loved this more personal post and a glimpse into your life 🙂 when i was in the 30s i LOVED sex and the city and still do. i was just out of a bad marriage and having a good old time. good for you for taking care of you and not needing any man to fill a void. will you share your photo shoot pics?

    May 14, 2012
    • Of course I will share those photos! The photographer is still working on them, but as soon as they are complete, I’m going to share them on the world wide web, because I’m really proud of them. 🙂 Have a great Tuesday!

      May 15, 2012
  2. Oh, man! Those stories are comical and also ridiculous considering those guys were serious!

    May 14, 2012
    • HA! Is it weird that I’m used to this ridiculousness? Hope all is well in CA Emily! Good to hear from you as always! xoxo

      May 15, 2012
  3. Oh gosh, some people just come off odd. It’s definitely hilarious to be single. I sometimes feel bad for the guys, because they just seem to get super nervous. But, the things that come out of some people’s mouths are absolutely ridiculous. At least it makes for good stories!

    May 14, 2012
    • Sometimes we need really good stories like this to just laugh out loud! It definitely made the trip a lot more comical! Thanks for stopping by and have a great day! 🙂

      May 15, 2012
  4. Wait, the Dairy Queen line DOESN”T work? My whole game just got ruined… dang. I enjoyed the post. It’s nice to have something different to read every once and ahile. Great post and if you can draw, this would be an awesome comic strip… comic books still works on the ladies, right?

    Yours truly, Mr. Thankfully Married.

    May 14, 2012
    • So glad you enjoyed the post and I think after all of these comments, I may have to start writing more personal ones! Your comment had me laughing out loud. Thanks for that and have a great day and for stopping by! 🙂

      May 15, 2012
  5. I gave myself similar advice, to take sometime after a relationship ended and work on myself and I agree…best advice ever!

    I too am focusing on growing my business and while I date, since I am so busy and determined, I am not eager to jump into a relationship. It has to be right, rather than dating for the sake of dating:)

    May 14, 2012
    • Exactly! It’s important to focus on yourself and your goals. I’m still working on that “balance”, but that’s life and eventually we figure it out…right? Thanks for stopping by and have a great day! 🙂

      May 15, 2012
  6. Meg #

    Oh my gosh crazy girl of mine! A boring post from YOU!? NEVERRRRRR! Don’t be silly 🙂 I actually loved knowing more about you and your personal side 🙂 I am single too so I would love to chat about stuff with you hahahaha. So many of my friends are in serious relationships, live with their boyfriends, or are engaged. I have been single, but learning so much about myself that I am OK with it 😀

    Great story Katie! I seriously loved it and want more 😉 Glad to hear everything with the photoshoot was great! Your picture is seriously stunning!

    May 14, 2012
    • You ROCK Meg! You always bring a smile to my face…Sending you a big hug on this rainy Tuesday! xoxo

      May 15, 2012
  7. Haha, nope! Fun stories! Love hearing this kinda stuff. Feel free to share non-fitness stories anytime

    May 14, 2012
    • Thanks Meredith! I need to start doing these kind of posts more often. It’s a nice refreshing change up from the norm. Stay dry today…AGAIN!

      May 15, 2012
  8. HAHA Hilarious! Yikes, I’m going on my very first date (since I got divorced) this weekend. I wonder what kind of story I’ll have to tell?

    May 14, 2012
    • HA! You HAVE to let me know how it goes…Pretty please! Good luck and have fun! 🙂

      May 15, 2012
  9. I swear men are idiots and just never get past the college dating mentality. Sheesh!

    May 14, 2012
    • HA! It’s too comical! Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

      May 15, 2012
  10. Being 27 and going back and forth on if being single sucks or not, I read posts like this and I almost look forward to staying single into my 30s. All the humor and life lessons I’ll miss out on if I have a rock on my finger. lol Thanks for sharing,

    May 14, 2012
    • I am loving my 30’s…I’m like a fine wine “better with age”! HA! Thanks for stopping by and have a great Tuesday! 🙂

      May 15, 2012
  11. You are so gorgeous, I am not surprised all these people were interested in talking with you 🙂

    May 15, 2012
    • HA! Thanks Katherine for the sweet compliment and for stopping by…I hope you had a great Hump Day! 🙂

      May 16, 2012
  12. omg WEIRDOS although i’m not surprised. i went out with a guy a few weeks ago once and soon realised he wasn;t for me. the next day i bumped into him while walking my dog and he said he was going to invite me for an AFTERNOON NAP. what kind of freak invites someone they barely know for an afternoon nap???!!!

    May 16, 2012
    • OH MY GOSH! First of all I just LOL and second of all that is weird…Thanks for making my morning and for stopping by! Have a great day! 🙂

      May 16, 2012
  13. Meghan #

    I agree, I like the personal stories. Sadly, your being fit, gorgeous, successful and motivated doesn’t keep men from spewing nonsense! Sigh. I have sooooo many bad dating stories. I often thought a glass of wine and sex and the city re-runs was a far better evening than one.more.bad.date. Being single and working on(for?) you is way better than settling for a bad or mediocre relationship!

    May 16, 2012
    • High-Fives to that Meghan! Hope you are having a great day and here’s to being halfway through the week! 🙂

      May 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

