Skip to content

It was one of those classes…

I woke up on Friday morning to a rainy, very dreary day, and was debating taking a hot Vinyasa class at 9:30 AM. My hips were so tight from the runs that I logged in this week and was also contemplating taking a rest day. But after a solid 8 hour sleep and already being up pretty early, I said let’s do this! I also knew that when it’s rainy in Jersey, the yoga studio is humid and usually a guaranteed sweaty class. Exactly how I like it! I crave the heat. I am so glad that I showed up, because it was one of those classes! Before class I fueled up on some coffee and a bowl of Greek yogurt, sliced strawberries, and Woodstock Foods Cashew Butter. Delicious on so many levels! Julie’s classes are HARD! She is a fantastic teacher and also a lover of running. Her classes focus a lot on hips and hamstrings, strength, and deep stretching. Exactly what I needed and wanted for this Friday morning. I was even more thrilled because it ended up being one of those classes! I knew it the second I sat down on my mat.

Source

What exactly do I mean by this? It’s hard to put into words, but it’s empowering, beautiful, and blissful. I was able to gracefully ease into each pose; flow through my sun salutations; balance with no hands in Half Moon Pose; push through the exhaustion that I felt in my quads while in Chair Pose; focus on my breathing; and most importantly be happy! I was happy to be in class, challenge myself, and be grateful that I am able to practice yoga on a daily basis. Like I’ve said before I practice yoga for both the physical and emotional joy that it brings into my life on a daily basis. 

Yoga is “me” time. It is just me and my mat. It’s up to “me” whether or not to show up to my practice, which sometimes alone can be the biggest challenge. Yoga isn’t always easy for me. Some classes have left me frustrated, exhausted, happy or even sad, but once in a while, you leave a class feeling like I did on Friday, and it is pure heaven. Just like everything else, it is a challenge, but it has so many wonderful rewards, and this is why I practice yoga. It makes me feel beautiful inside and out! 

That's Me!

Have you ever taken a yoga class that has left you feeling like you can take on the world? Was it recent? I think I’m still glowing! On that note, it’s time to enjoy the weekend. I’m heading in NYC for the night to spend time with some special friends, eat yummy food, drink delicious wine, and laugh the night away. I hope that all of you have  a wonderful weekend. Thanks for stopping by and I’ll leave you with my favorite quote of the week:

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. i think we were in the same mind set! i had the same experience… BLISS

    March 17, 2012
    • HA! So many friends were doing yoga yesterday. It was pretty cool to see that all over twitter. So glad you had a wonderful class! 🙂

      March 17, 2012
  2. Gosh, I just love when classes end up being just what you needed. I can’t wait to take a class this week – not yoga, but something intense and sweaty. That’s just what I need. 🙂

    March 19, 2012
    • Awesome! Let me know what class you decide to take and how it goes! 🙂 Love intense sweaty workouts. Hope you had a great start to the week!

      March 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

