Skip to content

Putting Aside The Ego!

I love Sundays! And this Sunday was pretty spectacular in the fact that I took a much-needed REST day, enjoyed my favorite breakfast treat, and was able to get a ton of work done for the business. This past week was a little rough, so it was nice to start off the new week with a good nights sleep, good food, and a positive attitude. I’m also pretty excited about the weather for this upcoming week…temperatures in the 60’s! Cannot wait to get outside for at least 2 long runs this week. I refuse to go on the treadmill, because last week I spent more time on that machine then I wanted too. HA!

Jersey Bagels are the BEST!

Make sure you enter my MILA GIVEAWAY before Friday morning!

Let’s get to the main topic of conversation here:

When it comes to running, strength training, or yoga, are you able to “put your ego aside?” What exactly do I mean by this? It means listening to your body and being able to decide whether or not you can do that last rep, mile, or handstand, without hurting yourself. Are you able to take a step back, listen, and rest? This is hard for a lot of fitness fanatics, including myself, but I have learned to put my ego aside. While it can be humbling, it feels so good both mentally and physically, because it is the right thing to do. I will be honest and let you know that it has taken me a while to get to this point, because just like everything else in life, you live and learn; figure out what your boundaries are; what works and doesn’t work for you; and learn how to then apply it to your lifestyle and training! Below I’ve listed some examples of when I’ve learned to “put my ego aside”, when it comes to my training:

  1. Strength Training: Learning to “put my ego aside” with strength training happened a couple of months ago while I was doing dead lifts. I was lifting a pretty heavy amount of weight and felt a strain in my back during the first set on repetition 15. I ignored it and continued training through the last 2 sets. Not smart and my back wasn’t right for the next month. I love lifting legs! They are my favorite muscle group to train, but dead lifts just don’t work for me. I watch my form and have tried other ways to incorporate them, but honestly it just doesn’t feel good, and there are other ways to strengthen these key muscles. So ego aside, I did some research, stopped doing dead lifts, and still feel awesome.
  2. Yoga: My practice has changed drastically the past couple of months, because I FINALLY have “put my ego aside”. I have listened to my body and I have come to terms as to what I can and cannot do (as a runner, being able to do a full split is just not going to happen in this lifetime for me). Let me explain. Yoga is supposed to FEEL GOOD, that’s why we practice. I realized that certain poses were not making me feel good anymore. Headstand, plow, and sometimes wheel were leaving me in pain after practice. I thought that this was normal and that with time, the pain would go away. Not so much. I do wheel, when I feel strong, and instead of doing inversions, I work on my hamstrings and hips, because these are stretches will benefit my other aspects of training. Ego aside, I feel better, stronger, and I am seeing gains in other areas of my practice.
  3. Running: I am able to “put my ego aside” much more easily with running. When something doesn’t feel right, I quickly take a step back and rest. I am able to do this because running is so important to me physically and mentally, that I don’t want to risk getting injured. This has come with time, knowledge, and learning to fuel my body, which is so key when training for running.

The moral of this piece, just like everything else that involves eating clean and fitness:

  • Listen to your body
  • Experiment with what works and doesn’t work
  • Educate yourself
  • Don’t get frustrated!

Source

When was the last time you “put your ego aside”?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great post, important topic

    Last time I had to put my ego aside? Just last week! It was so difficult . Rather than having to put my ego aside mid-run or halfway through my planned reps, I had to put my ego aside and not begin my workouts at all. I was just not feeling well at all; the terrible cold and intermittent migraines kept me from the gym or from hitting the road. I really REALLY wanted to follow the “neck up, OK to exercise” rule, but I knew that my body was simply not up for it. You can read about my frustration and see how I accepted my lame week off, and how much better it felt afterward: http://dareyouto.blogspot.com/2012/02/rest-and-recover.html

    February 20, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      I read your post last week and loved it! I’m so glad that you were able to put your ego aside. This is such a hard thing to learn, especially as fitness fanatics, but I’m sure your mind and body are thanking you, and your workouts this upcoming week are only going to be stronger and better. Thanks for stopping by, entering the giveaway, and being honest! Have a great start to the week! 🙂

      February 20, 2012
  2. This post couldn’t of been any more timely for me. I’ve just posted a blog about my calf injury. 2 months before my first marathon and I’m not able to run! My training plan has gone to pot. What to do, what to do…what would you do?

    February 20, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      I responded to your post! Let me know what you think. I’m here if you need to vent about this injury or just need some extra encouragement to get through it. It’s so hard to “put the ego aside” especially when you had a goal you wanted to achieve. But in the long run, you will be healthier, stronger, and have learned a great life lesson. Good luck and keep me posted!

      February 20, 2012
  3. I push my ego aside all the time! There’s a huge difference between pushing yourself and pushing yourself too far. I’ve been lucky not to have had an injury that’s put me out of commission though – I think it’d be much harder to do if that was the case! Love this post. 🙂 Thanks for the reminder that we need to be good to our bodies for our bodies to be good to us!

    February 20, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Good for you and so glad that you liked the post! It’s amazing how much it helps not only your training, but your life, when you are able to put the big ego aside. I love my yoga practice even more since I have started making these little changes and it feels so good. There is nothing worse than leaving a yoga class frustrated. HA! Well said that “we need to be good to our bodies”! SO TRUE!

      February 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

