Skip to content

WIAW + “Burn OFF That Chocolate”

We are already halfway through another week and I hope everyone had a lovely Valentine’s Day and isn’t suffering this morning from a chocolate and wine hangover! Valentine’s Day nicely fell on a rest day for me, but I decided to resist the urge to splurge on my “redunkulous” Valentine cupcake and save it tomorrow after my long run. It’s all about balance. HA!

If you need to feel some balance after your chocolate overload yesterday, here is a quick little circuit to do at some point during the day to get your heart rate up and make you feel a little less guilty. Try this out wherever you are and let me know how you feel. All you need is your body, so don’t give me any excuses…Do as many sets as you like with a 1-Minute rest in-between each round…

GO!

  • 1-Minute Jumping Jacks
  • 1-Minute Body Squats
  • 1-Minute Plank with feet on a chair and forearms on the ground
  • 10 Narrow Push-Ups
  • Side Plank 1-Minute Right Side
  • 10 Wide Push-Ups
  • Side Plank 1-Minute Left Side
  • 1-Minute Triceps Dips

Thanks Jenn for always hosting and here’s to everyone having a awesome, healthy, and active Hump Day!Breakfast:

  • 1 cup Greek yogurt 0% fat
  • 1 packet of Mila
  • 1/2 c blackberries + diced strawberries
  • 1 “heaping” T of peanut butter
  • Lots of cinnamon

Lunch:

  • 2 eggs
  • Handful of spinach + chopped onion + mushrooms
  • 1/4 beans
  • 1/2 yellow pepper
  • 1/4 c sharp cheddar cheese
  • Hot Salsa
  • Oregano + Red Pepper Flakes

Snack:

  • 1/4 c almonds (we all know what almonds look like)

Dinner:

  • Slow Cooker Stew (carrots, peas, onions, beef, potatoes…basically a delicious hearty winter meal)
  • 1 cup cooked rice


19 Comments Post a comment
  1. connie bolen #

    Good morning I would like to know the calorie intake for the day with the meals you eat.

    February 15, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      I honestly don’t track my calorie intake. The only times that I do that, will be after a trip or weekend of way too much “bad” stuff or when I’m training for endurance races, to make sure I’m getting enough to refuel. Calorie intake varies for each person. It depends on your workout schedule, age, goals, etc.

      February 15, 2012
      • Many people request my calorie intake as well and I honestly don’t track either! I have an idea in my head and if I have a more indulgent day (like valentines day) I am pretty good about scaling back and modifying ‘better for you’ foods in place of the indulgent ones.

        February 16, 2012
      • Kathleen #

        My thoughts exactly! I understand tracking calories when you are trying to loose weight or just starting a program, but personally I feel the same way as you do. Thanks for sharing your input and hope you are having a great start to your Thursday!

        February 16, 2012
  2. Wait, you SAVED a cupcake? Good for you! I always devour treats instantly. haha I guess it’s a good thing I don’t get many of them.

    February 15, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      HA! I know! I’m saving that bad boy cupcake for tonight. It’s actually staring at me right now on the counter. šŸ˜‰ Happy Hump Day!

      February 15, 2012
  3. No wine or sugar hangover for me but that is the perfect workout for me this morning, doing it within the hour – thank you! šŸ™‚

    February 15, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Good for you and let me know how it goes! I’d love to hear your feedback! Have a Happy Hump Day! šŸ™‚

      February 15, 2012
  4. What a great day of eats, today really is very dreary! I have been all about the stews this year with my new slow cooker!

    February 15, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Will you send me one of your favorite slow cooker recipes? I feel like I’m kind of in a slump with mine and would love a new and exciting one! šŸ™‚ Stay cheery on this yucky day!

      February 15, 2012
  5. I’m always on the lookout for a new workout to shake things up – will be bookmarking this one to try out soon. Thanks!

    February 15, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      When you try it out, make sure you report back and let me know your thoughts! I love feedback, both good and bad. Hope you had a wonderful Wednesday and thanks for stopping by! šŸ™‚

      February 15, 2012
  6. peas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hehe, now i am obsessed with peas.

    February 15, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Oh Lindsay, you made me laugh out loud! I needed that. Peas peas and more peas…Love my peas!

      February 15, 2012
  7. Great workout this is! I am saving this for another time…when I need a quick kick in the butt! I hope the cupcake was tasty šŸ™‚ I would save it for a run day too

    February 15, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Let me know if you try it out and what you thought of it. I love feedback, both good and bad. Excited to treat myself tonight! Hope you had a wonderful Wednesday, we are almost to the weekend. šŸ™‚

      February 15, 2012
  8. Jocelyn Ege #

    loved the workout this am, of course at 8 months pregnant I had to swap the jumping jacks for some lunges. thanks!!!

    February 16, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      You are AMAZING! So glad that you tried it out…Sending you a high-five and will call you this afternoon. XOXO

      February 16, 2012
  9. i love making meals in the slow cooker….the smell they make in the house is almost as good as the food itself!

    February 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

