Skip to content

Do You Workout When You Get Sick?

It’s amazing how much better I feel, compared to the beginning of the week! I don’t think I could have recovered so quickly, if it wasn’t for a not so crazy schedule on Thursday and Friday, hot yoga, and my healthy lifestyle. I am feeling very thankful, because I took care of my body, sweated the sickness out, hydrated, ate well, and got LOTS of sleep! It was inevitable that I was bound to get sick one of these days, since all of my clients have been sick at one point or another since the holidays. I refused to admit it, but accepted defeat on Thursday evening after training 3 clients back to back, it hit me like a ton of bricks.

Depending on how sick you are, whether you have the flu or a cold, you need to listen to your body! Again, we are all different, and what may work for me, may not work for you. For this nasty brief cold that I had, I did what I knew would feel best, and thankfully my body responded in a good way. Listen to your body, take care of it, and it will thank you later on!

My Plan of Attack Went Like This:

  • Sleep and lots of it! I took some cold medicine both Thursday and Friday night right after dinner and was passed out from 9:00 PM until 7:00 AM. 20 hours of sleep at night! This was HUGE!

    Kala is a PRO at sleeping!

  • Two Hot Vinyasa classes at Powerflow. I did one class Friday morning and I was worried about being too congested, but it ended up being one of my most focused practices. I felt so wonderful afterwards. Full detox; my head was a little bit clearer; and the class was flat out awesome. I took another early class on Saturday morning, at my usual time, and felt just as focused, and fully energized.
  • Lots and lots of water and clean eating! Nothing new here, but made sure to drink more water, especially after the hot yoga. I literally sweat the sickness out! I fueled up after class on Saturday with my absolute favorite breakfast. Nothing beats oats in a jar on a Saturday morning…YUM!

It was so nice to wake up on Sunday morning, train my client at 9:00 AM, have a delicious breakfast, and then head to the gym, to get a solid hour workout in. I’ve been doing the workouts that I’ve been sending to my great friend Jamie who is getting married next weekend! She asked me to put together a clean eating + bridal booty kicking workout for two weeks. The workouts kick BUTT and target the whole body, keep the heart rate up, scorch calories, and TONE. I love them and so does she. I’m so excited to share her experience with all of you, once the wedding is complete. She’s already gorgeous, but she just wanted something to make her feel good both inside and out. It’s working!

The rest of my Sunday night involved planning my client’s workouts, my workout schedule, and eating this delicious dinner. Asian chicken salad wrap topped with some hot sauce and some multi-grain chips. Another great Costco find, that are made fresh, and not usually there on a regular basis. I LOVE them! But then again, anything wrapped in a tortilla is fine with me. I hope everyone has a wonderful start to the week!

Do you try to workout when you are sick? What are your quick fixes when you get sick?

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Aliza #

    Unfortunately, I have had a bad sinus infection for a while now. I finally went to the ENT and he told me NOT to exercise. He said that your body uses a lot of energy to fight infection and we shouldn’t waste that valuable energy at the gym. Anyway, it’s been two weeks and two rounds of antibiotics and I am finally feeling good enought to go back to working out. Can’t wait!

    February 13, 2012
  2. I love that your oats in a jar are exploding. I thought mine was so big today so that makes me feel better! 🙂

    February 13, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      I layered that oats in a jar with diced strawberries and blackberries, which helped with the overflowing! I’m a total dork and get really excited for oats in a jar. It’s the little things…right? Hope you are having a great start to the week and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      February 13, 2012
  3. Glad to hear you sweated it out and are feeling better! I, like you, try to listen to my body, but I do workout if I can. I always feels better and sometimes the sweat helps – normally it’s a run for me but I could totally see hot yoga helping. Love that! And yes, your friend IS gorgeous! – this is only going to give her more self-confidence and strength; how neat. 😀

    Have a great Monday!

    February 13, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Thanks Bonnie! I hope that you are having a great Monday as well. Another weekend has come and gone and another Monday is halfway done too. Time is flying by! Looking forward to reading your post later today and thanks for reading mine. Talk soon! 🙂

      February 13, 2012
  4. If I’m not training for a race, i usually rest–but feel guilty for not moving! Cooper and Kala would be best buds! Naps are his fav!

    February 13, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      HA! I agree…Cooper and Kala would be great friends! Our goldens lead a good life. I swear that in my next life I should come back as her! Hope you are having a good start to the week. Talk soon! 🙂

      February 13, 2012
  5. I workout when I am sick unless its in my chest. I don’t go as hard or long but sometimes moving a bit makes me feel better!

    February 13, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      I totally agree! It really depends on how you feel, how sick you are, and figuring out what will make you feel better. I took my dog for a 30 minute walk one day, just so I could get some fresh air, Vitamin D, and give her a little bit of exercise. Because when I’m sick, the pup gets a little neglected too. Some movement is better than none.

      February 13, 2012
  6. I also try just listening to my body, and doing whatever I think I can handle. Today, for example, my throat felt lumpy and my nose was stuffed, so instead of doing a long (for me) run to train, I ran one mile, walked another, and then did yoga. As long as it’s only neck-up, I do try to stick to my workout routine as best I can, even if sometimes that means lowering the intensity.

    February 14, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Good for you for listening to your body! This is so key and glad you have found a way to still be active, without irritating your throat and stuffy nose. Feel better and thanks for stopping by!

      February 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

