Skip to content

Treadmill Workout + Erin Baker’s Winner

Another week has come and gone and as I sit here at the computer this morning with a wonderful head cold, I’m not going to complain and be miserable, but rather fight through it, stay hydrated, keep plugging along, and try to sweat this bugger out! I guess it was inevitable that this would happen, since the past few weeks, I think almost all of my clients at one point or another were sick. What can you do, except?Source

And on that note, let’s talk fitness and the winner of the Erin Baker’s GIVEAWAY!

The TREADMILL is a great machine to use during the winter months, when it’s too cold, dark, or icy, to go for your outdoor runs. But just like any other machine in the gym, it is way too easy to just “coast” along, without challenging yourself. To prevent your body from plateauing and getting bored, make sure to add hills, sprints, or even side shuffles to your regular treadmill workout. This will get your heart rate up, burn more calories, tone more muscles, and have you sweating a lot more!  When I cannot get an outdoor run in, I will either 2 kinds of workouts on the treadmill. One: I will go for distance and work on speed. Two: All hills! Both aren’t easy, but it allows me to get two challenging workouts in, that keep me focused and in the long run will help me with my outdoor runs and my overall training. Source

I had the intention of doing the Step Mill when I got to the gym yesterday morning, but it was taken and instead of waiting or getting frustrated that the machine was taken, I decided to jump on the treadmill and do a calorie blasting 30 minute workout on the treadmill.  

30 Minute Interval Treadmill Workout:

  • 1 minute: 4.0
  • 3 minute: 4.0 with an incline of 10
  • 3 minute: 4.0 with an incline of 13
  • 3 minute: 4.0 with an incline of 15
  • Side Shuffle: 1-Minute on each side at a speed of 3.5 and incline of 1
  • Side Shuffle: 1-Minute on each side at a speed of 3.5 and incline of 5
  • 1 Minute: 4.0
  • 2 minute: 5.5 with a incline of 1
  • 3 minute: 5.5 with an incline of 6
  • 2 minute: 6.0 with an incline of 1
  • 3 minute: 6.0 with an incline of 6
  • 2 minute: 6.5 with an incline of 1
  • 3 minute: 6.5 with an incline of 6
  • 2 minute: 4.0 with an incline of 0

And finally the winner of the Erin Baker’s GIVEAWAY is: Christine McCarthy! Please e-mail me with your shipping address and we’ll get your delicious box of treats delivered to your doorstep! THANK YOU so much for entering this and I hope that everyone has a wonderful weekend. Train Hard, Eat Well, and SMILE!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. This treadmill workout looks awesome! I may have to give it a try some time, but I have such a hard time running inside on the treadmill. I’d rather not run at all! Doh! Congrats to the winner!

    February 10, 2012
  2. Great treadmill workout!

    February 10, 2012
  3. This is an awesome treadmill workout! You should link it up to Sweat it Out Saturday over at my blog. It’d be a great addition. 🙂

    February 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

