Skip to content

Product Review + The “DREADED” Step Mill

It’s hard to believe that it is already the first week of February! Here in New Jersey, it certainly doesn’t feel like winter, and I’m loving it. After last year’s winter, I’m savoring each sunny and warm day. This girl needs her Vitamin D! I’m such a happier and more energetic person, when the sun is out, and I’m able to get at least an hour outdoors with clients or even just with Kala. It’s the little things! 

A little while ago, Nicole from Erin Baker’s Wholesome Baked Goods contacted me about doing a product review and I was thrilled! It’s always a nice surprise to get these kind of requests. A few days later, this yummy package arrived in the mail for me.  Everything is baked to order ensure homemade freshness. They use whole food ingredients such as whole grain oats, flax seeds, fruit puree, egg whites, natural peanut butter, walnuts, raisins, honey, and expeller pressed oil. Their product provide protein, carbs, fiber, and healthy fat. There is no high fructose corn syrup, artificial colors, flavors, or additives, hydrogenated oils, fillers or trans-fat in any of our products. Nicole (who contacted me) is filled with knowledge and has provided great customer service. I like this company and their products! Make sure to come back on Monday for a GIVEAWAY! 

It was filled with:

Review:

I’ve consumed all of the samples and they are delicious. I paired the granola with Greek yogurt and fruit; the “minis” as a snack with either an apple or orange; and the “original” breakfast cookie as breakfast on the go in between clients. It’s large enough and has enough nutrients to keep me tied over for a couple of hours. As much as I am a peanut butter lover, I do have to say that Oatmeal Raisin was my favorite. I would definitely get more of the “minis”, because they are the perfect snack, and the granola, because, who doesn’t love granola. I’ll give Erin Baker’s Wholesome Baked Goods a High-Five!

Now that we’ve talked about a healthy new product you need to try out, let’s talk fitness!

The STEP MILL…You either love it, hate it, or completely ignore it! This is a machine that you should be using on a regular basis for multiple health and physical reasons. I use the Step Mill at least twice a week and have noticed significant gains in my running and a nice shape to my quads and booty. Hello…high-fives! I’m not going to lie, this is a hard workout, that gets your heart rate up, and will have you soaking wet at the end. Here are some quick benefits and tips on using the Step Mill:

Benefits:

  • Requires balance and strength, which helps build up your CORE;
  • Helps build lean muscle, which helps burn fat;
  • The stepping motion uses nearly every leg muscle: calves, hamstrings, quadriceps, and booty muscles;
  • Great cardiovascular activity that immediately gets your heart rate up!

Tips:

  • Start off slow to build up your balance, speed, and endurance;
  • Do not go longer than 30 minutes;
  • NO HANDS!
  • Add variety: Try to do a side step for 1-Minute on each side; Skip a step; hold dumbbells; or walk backwards

Step Mill Workout: (this is what I typically do)

  • 5 minutes: 80
  • 5 minutes: 85
  • 5 minutes: 90
  • 5 minutes: 95
  • 5 minutes: 90
  • 2 minutes: 85
  • 1 minute: 80
  • 2 minutes: 75 (skipping a step with no hands)

Start incorporating this machine into your workout! You will not be disappointed and it’s a great way to add variety to your workouts, especially during the winter months, when we cannot always get outside. If you try this workout, let me know what you think. And feel free to ask any questions, I love to hear from you!

Make sure to check back on Monday for  GIVEAWAY of healthy and delicious treats! Have a great Friday!

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. ahh you step mill for 30 minutes, haha thats insane… im usually dying after around 15 !

    February 3, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      HA! I torture myself on the Step Mill, but it’s oh so worth it! 15 minutes is better than 0 minutes! Practice makes perfect…Happy Friday!

      February 3, 2012
  2. I need Vit D – it’s snowing here in Amsterdam! Could do with a Step mill in my apartment right now to keep warm. Love those machines but my gym doesn’t have one. Great exercise for runners who want to mix it up a bit (or are resting a calf injury, like me 😦

    February 3, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      The Step Mill is great for runners! It has helped me so much on hills…Feel better and enjoy the snow storm! It’s sunny here and not a snow flake in sight, which is a little sad.

      February 3, 2012
  3. It is my Mom’s favorite! We are testing out a new gym this week – I’ll be sure to get on the step mill! 🙂

    February 3, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      High-Fives to your Mom! What gym are you going to try out? Have a great weekend and enjoy your Friday!

      February 3, 2012
  4. as soon as i have access to a step mill again, i’m doing this!! thanks lady.

    February 3, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      I’m sure you will, but I’d take climbing all those trails in NZ any day over the Step Mill. Have a wonderful weekend! xoxo

      February 3, 2012
  5. I think the stepmill is awesome!!! It is also one of the most neglected machines at the gym.. I used to do it all the time but unfortunately my new gym does not have one!!!! The baked goods look delicious, I will be back on Monday!!!

    February 3, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Well if it’s warm enough outside, where you live, you should find some stadium stairs! Hope you are having a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you on Monday! 🙂

      February 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

