Skip to content

Winter Obsessions…Part I

HIGH-FIVES IT’S FRIDAY! It’s been a busy week filled with lots of clients, great workouts, some pretty early mornings and late evenings, and the arrival of winter. Winter took long enough to get here, but the colder temperatures are definitely here. I hope that all of you had a wonderful week, that was filled with healthy eats and killer workouts. Before I kick off my much needed “Girls Weekend Away”, I wanted to share with you some things that I’ve been slightly obsessed with, this winter. I know you have some too, so feel free to share!

  • Full Body Circuit:This is a great warm-up to do before your strength training. Do 3 sets with a 1-Minute rest in between each. This takes a total of 15 Minutes! A great way to get your heart rate up and all your muscles ready to ROCK!
  1. 50 Jumping Jacks
  2. 20 Reverse Lunges
  3. 10 Squat Jumps
  4. 20 Squats
  5. 60 Mountain Climbers
  6. 15 Push-Ups
  7. 1-Minute Plank
  • Double Chocolate Peanut Butter: Do I really need to say more! Thanks to Kate Horning of “A Healthy Passion”, who sent me this delicious jar of nut butter. It’s heavenly and a great way to get your sweet tooth fix. I especially enjoy a “heaping” tablespoon of it on a protein pancake. I’m thinking of using the last bit tomorrow on whole wheat toast with a sliced banana and some honey….YUMMY! So sad to see this jar be empty!
  • Lululemon Mittens: I’ve said it multiple times before, but I’m FREEZING all the time and my hands are always cold. So when I went into the store a couple of months ago, I immediately snagged them. I’m so glad I did, because I haven’t seen them back in the store since. They are so warm, comfy, and perfect for long winter runs! These keep my fingers nice and toasty. I’m giving myself a high-five, because warm hands=happy Katie!
  • Long Winter Runs: I’ve made a big effort this winter to make sure I get more workouts outdoors. After working in the corporate gym last winter, I was miserable. There was very little fresh air or sunshine available. I’m much happier, obviously in so many ways, but having the flexibility to train clients outdoors and a more flexible schedule, afternoon runs are becoming a regular, and they feel so good. On Wednesday I did 8+ miles in between clients and ROCKED it! It felt so good to soak up the sun, run a long distance, and just go! Running makes me happy!

    I love these pants & I love my Zoot's!

  • Kale: I don’t know what took me so long to jump on the “kale train”, but I’m on it and loving it. I cannot get enough of kale! Lately, I’ve been having it at least once a day. I either saute it with veggies and then top it with 2 fried eggs or I make kale chips and have it as a side for dinner. See the picture below…This was fabulous and so easy!
  • Disconnecting: I spend a decent amount of time on the computer during the week and usually on Sundays, when I’m trying to plan for the week ahead. It’s important for me to turn the computer off, walk away, and enjoy the “real” things in life…family, friends, pets, a good meal, and the great outdoors! With that being said, I’m signing off and going to spend a weekend with a great friend to do lots of girl stuff, enjoy delicious food, wine, and other fun things. Ciao!

Source

Are you able to take a break from the Internet every once in a while?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ahhh I can’t believe u already went thru the nit butter I’ll have to send u more soon ;). Love
    This post I need to run outside more I’m so sick of the treadmill. & love the mittens I need some !!

    January 20, 2012
  2. Those mittens are so dang cute! I try to unplug in the evenings when at home. I am online all day for work (and play, let’s be honest) so when I get home, I shouldn’t stare at a computer.

    January 20, 2012
  3. In agreement on winter runs; it’s a great chance to get outside and relish in the sun for a while!

    Also do love to disconnect, as well. It’s important to shut down and simply “be,” and relate to those around you. Enjoy your weekend!

    January 20, 2012
  4. love that last quote!!! isnt an empty nut butter jar the saddest sight?? or the happiest.. because it means that a new one is on its way!

    January 21, 2012
  5. Definitely a fan of long, outdoor, winter runs! Always hard for me to get myself out there, but at the same time they feel so refreshing if you layer up right. Love it (and the fact that our temps are rising this week – I will be out almost every day taking advantage of the sunshine!). ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m here and there online most often – not fully engaged but not often taking intentional breaks, to be honest. But Sunday mornings and often evenings I’m off – it’s good for me to place my focus elsewhere especially on this day of rest for my heart, mind, and soul. …off to prepare for my Tuesday Bible study, so with that said, I’m unplugging! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope your girls’ weekend was refreshing and FUN!

    January 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

