Skip to content

What I Eat on REST DAYS!

I was so glad I chose Tuesday as a rest day, because it was nasty outside and my body was not going to be doing any physical activity! I like taking a FULL day off during the week, because it allows me to focus more on my clients, rather than worrying about when I’m going to squeeze in a workout. Plus, it was cold, rainy, and grey. Not very motivating weather, but at least my clients were ready to rock. I had put together some great workouts for my women. They all did great, pushed through, succeeded in getting a good sweat, and were still smiling in the end.

So let’s take a look at what I typically eat on my “rest days”! In the past, I was trying to consume less on days I wasn’t training and had found multiple times that it would backfire on me and I would end up being starving before going to bed. Not a fun feeling! So after some experimenting, I have found that what works for me is to just stick to eating almost the exact amount as I would on training days. Again, this is what works for me. Remember: Experiment!

Thanks Jenn for always hosting! You are a rock star!

Breakfast:

  • 1 scoop Double Chocolate Whey Protein
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T Mila
  • 2 T unsweetened almond milk + 2 T water
  • 1/2 c raspberries + 1/2 c blackberries (mixed into batter, while cooking)
  • 1 “heaping” T of Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter by Kate Horning of “A Healthy Passion”

*I enjoyed every single bite of this breakfast. I had a hour break between clients and it was nice to sip on my coffee and savor this delicious meal, that kept me fully satisfied for 4 hours.

Lunch:

  • 2 handfuls of kale
  • 2 fried eggs
  • Small handful tomatoes
  • 1/2 c corn
  • 1/4 c lentils
  • Chopped onion, lots of garlic powder and red pepper flakes
  • Slice of Swiss cheese

Snack:

  • Large apple with cinnamon

Dinner:

  • Costco Pizza (I buy the large ones and then cut them into 1/4’s and then freeze) Love this meal!
  • Added toppings included: handful of broccoli and cherry tomatoes
  • Frank’s Red Hot
  • Garlic Powder and Red Pepper

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Marcee #

    Mmmm …. love everything on your plate Jenn ….. w/the exception of a hot dog.

    I wish some great/talented manufacturer would invent tasteful tofu doggies. The ones I’ve tried at TJ’s & WF’s are not good. Then again, someone should be able to come up with a decent recipe …. not overly salted.

    We are pizza addicts (I could eat grilled/roasted broccoli everyday) in this family. Mostly topped w/veggies …. sometimes with grilled chicken and pineapple.

    January 18, 2012
  2. YUM! That pizza looks so good, especially with all the added toppings. What a great idea!

    January 18, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      The pizza itself won’t keep me full long enough, so in come the veggies! I love my pizza topped with vegetables anyway and broccoli is one of my favorites. Thanks for stopping by!

      January 18, 2012
  3. You meals look delicious! Thank you for the breakfast idea! I am running low on ideas in regard to protein/carb ratio. While I don’t mind scrambled egg whites and oatmeal every morning. I do need variety. 😉

    January 18, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Thanks! I’m amazed at the photos that the new iPhone takes, so they definitely help. 😉 I’ve never added egg whites to my oats and for some reason it’s never appealed to me. Oh well! Try the pancakes out and let me know what you think. Happy Hump Day!

      January 18, 2012
      • My iPhone has over 400+ pics on it. LOL. Love it! Do you have 4 or 4s? I was amazed at my uncle’s 4S for video and its stability function. Sweet.

        January 19, 2012
  4. These are some pretty impressive eats! Just wondering what is Mila?

    January 18, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Thanks girl! Here is the link on Mila…I forgot to add it in the post. http://lifemax.net/mila2health/Product Check it out and let me know your thoughts. Have you ever used chia seeds? Feel free to e-mail me with any questions you may have. 🙂

      January 18, 2012
  5. i eat the same or more on rest days. No need to figh that hunger, yes? Eggs galore!

    January 18, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Love my eggs! No trips planned to come to Austin yet, but I will be traveling more this 2012. It’s one of my goals. Now I just need to win the lottery to support all these trips I want to take. Hope you had a good Hump Day! xoxo

      January 18, 2012
  6. I agree, I like to eat the same amount on REST days because I like to feed my body throughout the day to refuel! :] your eats look DELISH!

    January 18, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Thanks girl! I fully believe that what I ate on Tuesday helped me on my long run yesterday. If I ate less, I don’t think it would have been as successful. It takes time to figure these things out, but hey it is life and you have to experiment and figure out what works best for you. Hope you are doing well!

      January 19, 2012
  7. First time here via WIAW. I love your logo!

    January 19, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      THANKS! I love my logo too and my designer did such an awesome job. She’s a genius and VERY good at what she does. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you had a wonderful Hump Day! 🙂

      January 19, 2012
  8. Me and my fiance LOVE buying and customizing Costco pizzas! They are delicious, cheap and leave us with leftovers!

    January 19, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      HA! I’m so glad someone else likes Costco pizza as much as I do. It’s so easy and delicious. Topping them with veggies is simple and nutritious. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      January 19, 2012
  9. How did you make the breakfast? Looks amazing!

    January 19, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      It’s so easy and seriously takes less than 15 minutes. Add all the ingredients into a bowl and whisk. Heat up a small frying pan and add mixture and 1/2 of the berries. Flip after 3 minutes and cook for less than 3 minutes on the other side. Throw onto a plate, add nut butter and remainder of berries and serve. It’s the best and will keep you full for 3-4 hours. Enjoy!

      January 19, 2012
  10. What a great idea with the giant Costco pizzas. Gonna borrow that idea. Love the mozzarella-spinach pizzas. Nom Nom!

    February 19, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Last night I had Costco pizza and topped it with a fried egg for the extra protein, yellow peppers, fresh garlic, hot peppers, and arugula! It was so good and I didn’t feel guilty at all. The Costco pizza is good, not oily, and I never feel bloated or gross after. High-Fives to that!

      February 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

