Skip to content

Yoga Weekend + New Recipe

3 Yoga Classes in 3 Days and it was exactly what I needed this weekend! It was filled with lots of football, time at home with the family, home-cooked meals, and LOTS of yoga. I decided to take a 5 day rest from yoga, because my lower back was bothering me, but by the time Friday rolled around, I was craving it. Since I’m heading out of town for a “girls weekend” on Friday, I wanted to make sure that I’m fully rested. Gosh, I sound like an old lady, but it’s the truth. Between the traveling, wine, and delicious food we’ll be consuming, I need to be ready to rock!

Yoga this weekend was a progression!

  • Friday at 5:30 PM: Body and Mind was exhausted! I had a hard time focusing; my balance was off; I had a hard time going into arm balances; and there was a lot of “chatter” going on in my mind. Usually when your mind is distracted it’s typically a sign of exhaustion. Needless to say I was happy to be done, go home, and crash. I did exactly that!
  • Saturday at 7:30 AM: After a restful sleep a strong cup of coffee, I felt so much better in the morning. I was up early to help out at the studio and then after class had to immediately run to train 2 clients. Class was much better than the night before. I felt stronger, more enthusiastic, and energized to help my clients. My arm balances were stronger and my back felt great.
  • Sunday at 4:00 PM: Best class! I love ending the weekend with a intense practice. I pushed myself; was able to get into some new poses; had no “chatter’; gracefully got into handstand; and sealed practice with my favorite restorative pose: “Legs Up the Wall Pose” or Viparita Karani

Source

I’ve been listening to my body the past couple of weeks and have stopped doing my typical inversions, such as shoulder stand and head stand. These are moves that I used to do on a regular basis, but honestly, they never really felt that good to me and yoga is supposed to feel good, not painful. So when the rest of the class is working on their inversions, I either do the above pose or spend time stretching other areas…typically my hamstrings. Put your ego aside and listen to what your body can do!

Chicken Sweet Potato and White Bean Chili:

From: Oxygen Magazine

  • 1 cup dried navy beans (soak overnight and drain)
  • 4 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 cups sweet potato, peeled and cubed
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 1/2 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into cubes
  • 2x 4 ounces cans roasted green chilies, drained
  • 1 T ground cumin
  • 1 T dried oregano
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups kale, chopped
  • Sea salt and Pepper
  • Place the beans in the slow cooker with enough broth to cover 1″. Top with the sweet potatoes, onion, garlic, and chicken. Add remaining broth, chilies, cumin, oregano, coriander, and cinnamon. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Once cooked, season with salt and pepper. Stir in the kale and cook another 10 minutes until wilts. Serve.

    Before Cooking

Review:

I’m not sure if I’ll make this again. Don’t get me wrong, it’s easy, budget friendly, and very healthy, but it’s lacking flavor. The salt and pepper is definitely needed before serving and the kale brought a nice texture and flavor to the dish. I have lots of leftovers (this dish makes 6-8 servings), which is great. I’ve separated them into containers, so that I can just pull them out of the freezer, heat them up, and add whatever sides I’m craving. If you are creative in the kitchen, I’m sure you can find a way to “jazz” this up. Let me know if you do!

Served with quinoa!

What is your favorite slow cooker recipe? PLEASE send me your link. I would love to try it out!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

