Skip to content

A Walk Around The Park…

Source

Raise of hands of who loves working out outdoors! High-Fives to taking advantage of sunny days, despite the colder temperatures! Yes it is winter and sometimes it is hard to bundle up and brace the cold, but let’s face it, when you are finished it does feel good. I’m cold ALL THE TIME, but when I need a good dose of Vitamin D to lift my spirits and wake me up, I lace up my running shoes, throw on layers, and just do it. Here are some reasons why you should take some of your workouts outdoors:

  • Boosts your energy levels;
  • Strengthen your immune system;
  • No chances of catching gym cooties;
  • Vitamin D;
  • Fresh air!

Chances are you already have gloves, a hat, and scarf in your closet, so you don’t have any excuses. Take it outside and enjoy! I have a wonderful client who loves to train outdoors. We will meet at the park on the slightly “warmer” winter days, so that she can bring her son in the stroller. We will do a 1-Hour  workout and walk a 3 mile loop on a bike path, that has some great hills. This is the workout that we did together, this week, and it was a great way to tone all the necessary muscles, get the heart rate up, and still catch up on some celebrity gossip.

Walk Around The Park Workout:

*Every 10 Minutes, step to the side and perform 2 sets of each circuit, with a 1-Minute Rest between each!

  • 50 Jumping Jacks
  • 30 Squats
  • 20 Reverse Lunges
  • 20 Push-Ups
  • 20 Triceps Dips (we used a fence that was on the side of the road)
  • 30 Step-Ups (15 on each leg)
  • 30 Side Lunges (15 on each side)

At the end of the walk, I knew it wasn’t the hardest workout we could have done, but it was MORE about just getting outside, moving, and lifting my client’s spirits. Mission accomplished! Sometimes when you are working out it’s not about how much your muscles are burning or if you are drenched in sweat, it’s more about whether or not it made you FEEL GOOD! And a big smile is always a good thing too…

Vail, CO 2010

Goal for YOUR weekend: Spend at least 30 minutes outside…Get Moving People! Report back to me and let me know what you did. Trust me you feel so much better. Have a wonderful winter weekend!

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love this workout idea! I try to get outside at LEAST a few times a week for a quick walk or jog and at least one hike – in LA, I have no excuse! 🙂

    January 14, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      You totally don’t have ANY excuses…I walked with another client this morning and it was nippy. We did just a nice 30 minute walk, but we both felt so much better after. Hello wake up call! 🙂

      January 14, 2012
  2. i love all the outdoor exercises! gets the blood flowing and air through the lungs! nice one Katie.
    🙂

    January 14, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      THANKS! I hope had a wonderful week! 🙂

      January 14, 2012
  3. I love walking outside ! I walked for 1 hour and a half today =) So relaxing. And I was with a friend so we didn’t even realized we walked for so long :p

    January 15, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Walking with friends is great! The time goes by so quickly and it’s an easy and healthy way to catch up. Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      January 17, 2012
  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance #

    Such a great idea for a workout! Usually people are less likely to get moving if it involves schlepping to the gym– but a park workout is so doable.

    January 16, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Exactly! I hope your workouts are going well this week. Enjoy your Tuesday and thanks for stopping by!

      January 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

