Skip to content

Being Present ON and OFF the Mat

The first week of the New Year is over and I hope that all of you are still committed to your 2012 goals! Don’t give up…If you made it through the crowds at the gym, the detox from not having any cake, cupcakes, or fudge, and just mentally getting back into your weekly routine, keep PLUGGING and JUST DO IT! My advice to you is to: be patient, write out your workouts on Sunday evening, and plan out your meals for the week, so that you are held accountable. Your body and mind will thank you!

After a pretty restful sleep last night, I still felt very disoriented today and blame it on a “Case of the Mondays”! Despite 35 minutes on the Step Mill and a 45 minute at-home workout, I still felt kind of depleted. I think my body is telling me that I need a rest and that’s exactly what I’ll be giving it tomorrow. I have a packed Tuesday and need to be present for my clients! Source

Let’s talk about BEING PRESENT! It’s hard this time of year to stay focused and remain positive during the darker and colder months, but it’s so important that you be present both in the gym and at home. Staying present will keep you positive, motivated, and dedicated to your 2012 health and fitness goals. Here are three tips that help me:

  1. Tackle Your To-Do List One Task At A Time: I write out my lists on paper, index cards, post-its, and in my calendar. I like to write lists, because I find it very rewarding to cross it off. Instead of getting frustrated with the long list, I make it a goal to tackle one in the morning, afternoon, and evening. If I only tackle one that day, then hey it’s better than not tackling any.
  2. Enjoy Some Alone Time: Yoga is my alone time! It’s just me and my mat. It’s my time to unwind, release any stress, and just be present on the mat. I savor these moments and I’m grateful that I am able to practice 3x a week. Being present on my mat = Happy and Healthy Me!
  3. Treat Yourself: It’s important to take care of yourself and treat yourself to something that makes you feel GOOD! Whether it is a massage, a new pair of yoga pants, a glass of wine, or a piece of chocolate, enjoy it, savor it, and smile. When you feel good, you are able to be present and available to those around you.

On a totally different note, I was pretty excited for breakfast this morning! As you know, I love breakfast. So when a friend approached me about doing a product review for something new that has some amazing health benefits…why not be excited! Let me introduce Mila! This “Miracle Seed” is loaded with o-mega 3 fatty acids, proteins, antioxidants, and fiber. I will do a more detailed report, when I do a review. This morning I added this packet to my Greek yogurt, pumpkin, sliced banana, cinnamon, and “heaping” tablespoon of nut butter. I’m going to add this to my breakfast each morning for the week and will report back later. I’m having a call tomorrow afternoon and excited to learn more about the company and the product.

How do you stay present during the winter months?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sounds like we had a similar Monday. I’m blaming it on the full moon and crummy weather 😉

    January 9, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      HA! I totally forgot it was a full moon…That explains a lot! Here’s to a better day tomorrow. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      January 9, 2012
  2. Regarding #3, how about a glass of wine AND a piece of chocolate, basically the only way I got through the craziness of today was imagining that after dinner!

    January 9, 2012
    • oh ditto! every night! And katie, love MILA! we know the creator. So cool!

      January 10, 2012
      • Kathleen #

        No way…That’s so cool that you love MILA! I had it again this morning and really excited to learn more about it and see what kind of results I notice. How long have you been using it? Do you use it on a regular basis? Happy Tuesday! 🙂

        January 10, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Monday was brutal for me and I’m so glad it’s over with. I just couldn’t get in the groove of things and I was so frustrated. I ended my night with some peppermint bark…Oh chocolate you are so YUMMY! Hope you are having a better day today! 🙂

      January 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

