Skip to content

Breakfast for Dinner in 2012

Happy New Year! I hope that everyone had a great Sunday! It was a gorgeous day in New Jersey and it was so nice to see so many people biking, running, and walking. I wasn’t planning on working out today, but since I wasn’t feeling stellar after last nights festivities, I decided it was time to sweat it out. After brunch at Mom’s, I came home, laced up the shoes, and hit the pavement with Kala. I decided to not bring a watch or music…good decision. It was so nice out! The first few steps were a little rough, but once Kala and I got in the groove, it was smooth sailing. 40 minutes later, we were back in the apartment and I decided, why not go for a full hour…20 minute at-home circuit.

Source

I felt SO MUCH better after that sweat session! A couple of errands later, it was time for some football, household chores, and planning out the week. Tomorrow I have to train a client in the morning; then I’m hoping to get in a outdoor run, if it’s not too chilly; a evening yoga class; Costco (because my fridge is empty); and Sports Authority for some more equipment.

Let’s talk about these pancakes that I whipped up. I love having breakfast for dinner. Since brunch was eggs, toast, and bacon, I was craving something sweet for dinner. Enter these bad boys…Try them out and let me know what you think.

Chocolate Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

  • 1 scoop double chocolate whey protein
  • 1 whole egg + 1 egg white
  • 1/2 c pumpkin
  • 2 tablespoons of unsweetened almond milk + 2 tablespoons of water
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 diced apple
  • 1 “heaping” tablespoon unsalted peanut butter
  • Dash of cinnamon

20 Minute At-Home Circuit

Perform 2 sets of each circuit. Rest for 1 minute after each circuit.

  • 50 Squats
  • 50 Reverse Lunges (alternating)
  • 20 Wide Push-Ups
  • 1 Minute Plank
  • 15 Step-Ups (15 on each leg. I used my coffee table, but you can use a chair as well)
  • 20 Triceps Dips
  • 5 Narrow Push-Ups
  • Side Plank with 10 leg raises
  • 5 Narrow Push-Ups

What is your favorite “at-home” exercise? Are you a fan of breakfast for dinner?

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. connie bolen #

    Thanks Katie for all your helpful information, I am starting today to look at your blog everydayand apply what will work for me. Hope to see you sometime in 2012. Maybe mom can come with you. Lets try and make a date! Jaime & I would ove that.

    January 2, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Happy New Year to you and your family! Jamie and I are going to try to put together a boot camp one weekend, so hopefully you will see me sooner rather than later! I will keep you posted. Thank you for reading the blog and you look amazing…Have a wonderful week! xoxo

      January 2, 2012
  2. Too true – what a difference 20 minutes makes!

    January 2, 2012
  3. Katie, how do you make the pancakes? just mix everything together and cook them in a frying pan?

    January 2, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Mix all the goodies together and throw in a frying pan and cook like regular pancakes! Let me know how they turn out…I LOVE THEM! Hope all is well and Happy New Year to you and your family. 🙂

      January 2, 2012
  4. Exercise TV on Fios has great at-home workouts and they’re free!
    I would love breakfast for dinner but the fiance would hate it so that’s a no-go for me!

    January 2, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      I’ll have to check that out! Lately “at-home” workouts have just been a great and easier way to finish up a workout after a outdoor run. And you can always wear and listen to whatever you want. 😉 Hope you had a great Monday!

      January 2, 2012
  5. Reblogged this on alisueonthemove and commented:
    This is so very true!! I am going to add this to my inspiration board I am making. Thank you for the post!

    January 2, 2012
    • Kathleen #

      Of course..Thanks for stopping by and checking out She Rocks Fitness! Hope you are having a great start to the New Year!

      January 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

