Skip to content

Wild Squirrel Review + Happy New Year!

Oh New Year’s Eve, how I have a love/hate relationship with you! I started my morning off with my regular hot Vinyasa class, and then headed to a Saturday morning client. It’s been a interesting, but quick week. I find the days after big holidays to be kind of sad, slow, and I always feel a little out of sync. And of course, just as I get back into the groove of things, it’s New Year’s. HA! I’m tired of hearing about resolutions, what I should and shouldn’t be eating, and weight loss commercials, so I promise that this post is not about this.

I had a pretty productive morning and as soon as I finish this, I’m going to take Miss Kala for a nice little walk. My hips and hamstrings are very tight this week, plus fresh air never hurt anyone. Then it’ll be time for a manicure/pedicure and prepping for a night with some new and old friends. Even though I typically don’t make resolutions, I do have a list of things that I want to tackle this year. All of them are attainable and I will succeed at them with dedication, hard work, and patience. Here are a few of mine:

    • Sign up for 2x 1/2 marathons: I just signed up for the Rock n’ Roll 1/2 Marathon in Nashville! My sister Sarah and my good friend Deidre will be joining me!
    • Overcome my fear of public speaking!
    • Get in front of the camera and start making videos for the blog!
    • Successfully get up into forearm stand and hand stand without the wall behind me! This is something that I want to do…so badly!!! I know that what holds me back is my fear of falling. With practice it will come and being able to let go will help too.

I hope that you all have a wonderful, fun, happy, and safe New Year’s evening! Take some time either tonight or tomorrow to think about what you want to accomplish this year professionally, mentally, emotionally, and physically. One of my good friends New Year’s goals is to dedicate this year to “HERSELF”! I love this, because sometimes we need to be selfish and take care of ourselves. If we can’t do that, we can’t help or take care of others. I was also pretty honored when she asked me to be a part of this year and to train her. High-Fives girl and here’s to a awesome year!

On a totally random note, let’s talk about this delicious nut butter…

The first time I saw Wild Squirrel Nut Butter was on one of my favorite blogs Peanut Butter Runner. Obviously Jen is a lover of peanut butter, so when I saw her review of Wild Squirrel Nut Butter, I knew I had to learn more and see about possibly doing a review as well. I reached out to Keeley and Erika and they responded immediately and shipped me my delicious jar of Sneaky Cinnamon Nut Butter within days. Great customer service, prices, product, and story! Sneaky Cinnamon is DELICIOUS! I used this on protein pancakes, apples, Greek yogurt, and oatmeal. The best part…the little raisins they incorporated into this flavor…GENIUS. After a early morning client on Friday morning, I was pretty darn excited to have my oats in a jar. This was going to be a good one! Check out their site, story, and order some delicious and healthy nut butters. I really want to try the Pretzel Pizazz…

  • 1/2 c oats
  • 1 diced apple
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • Dash of cinnamon and vanilla

How are you ringing in the New Year? Did you workout today or are you saving it for tomorrow?

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Just ordered two jars of Wild Squirrel Nut Butter – sneaky cinnamon and pretzel pizzazz. Can’t wait to give it a try πŸ™‚ Thanks for the tip and Happy New Years!

    December 31, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Let me know what you think of it! I want to try the pretzel one so BADLY! I’m so going to place an order next week. Happy New Year’s to you as well and enjoy the long weekend. πŸ™‚

      December 31, 2011
      • OK are you ready? My Wild squirrel order just arrived and this Pretzel Pizazz is REDONKULOUS! Amazing, delicious and chock full of pretzels. I just finished some roasted root veggies and chicken for lunch which I had prepared just before the mailman rang the doorbell with my package so I had a big spoonful for dessert. AWE-SOME! Sooo glad I am subscribed to your blog and got this great tip from you. Thanks and I hope yours arrives soon!!

        January 6, 2012
      • Kathleen #

        AWESOME! I’m going to send this to Wild Squirrel and I cannot wait to get mine as well…So glad that you like their product! High-Fives and Happy Friday!

        January 6, 2012
  2. Jocelyn Ege #

    Happy NYE!!! How about your second half marathon be in Denver with me – oct 2012! Love you, thanks for your friendship, love, support and of course training in 2011!!!

    December 31, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      MISS YOU WOMAN! I’ll have a glass of wine for you tonight…We need to catch up in the New Year! It’s been way too long since we’ve talked. Happy New Year and sending you a big Jersey hug! xoxo

      December 31, 2011
  3. I’m not a fan of resolutions but maybe i”ll think of a few, you’ve inspired me to get back into yoga! Although, I’m currently dealing with hip bursitis, wonder if yoga might irritate that. Thanks for the nut butter tip, looks yummy!

    December 31, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      If you ever want to come up to Chatham and take a class with me, shoot me an e-mail! The name of the studio is Powerflow and I absolutely love it…Shoot me a e-mail if you are interested. Happy New Year and let me know if you ever made that nut butter. πŸ™‚

      January 1, 2012
  4. Jen #

    i love your 2012 goals…especially partial to the yoga inversion goal πŸ˜‰

    thanks for the shout out! glad you liked wild squirrel and order the pretzel pizzaz! i’m definitely ordering a new jar for myself!

    January 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

