Skip to content

WIAW + Burning It Off

Happy Wednesday! I feel a little out of sync this week, but it’s to be expected after the whirlwind of Christmas weekend, recovering from my red wine and sugar hangover, and planning for the New Year! It amazes me every year how quickly Christmas comes and goes, yet we spend weeks leading up to the big event. It was a great time, I ate too much, I drank too much, but hey…it happens and I am not going to beat myself up over it, because this kind of indulgence happens very infrequently. So enough about how bad we all were, let’s talk about a great 30 minute leg workout and some healthy eats, because it is WIAW, thanks to Jen!

I used this circuit on my two wonderful clients this morning! They train together twice a week and this was a nice wake up call after a little bit too much of everything this past weekend. Perform 3 sets of 20 repetitions with a 1-Minute rest after each circuit. All you need is some dumbbells, your water bottle, yoga mat, and some good music! Enjoy!

  • 20 Squats with Dumbbells
  • 20 Static Lunges with Dumbbells
  • Reverse Lunge with Dumbbells
  • Plies with Dumbbells at Hips and Hold on the last repetition for 10 seconds
  • Stability Ball Leg Curl
  • Stability Ball Bridge
  • Plank – 1 Minute
  • Plank – 30 touch the opposite shoulder

Breakfast:

Pumpkin, Greek Yogurt, Pear, Chia Seeds, Cashew/Almond Butter

Lunch:

Kale, Beans, Cauliflower, Goat Cheese, Tomatoes, and Sliced Turkey

Snack:

Almonds and Cashews

Dinner:

Salmon, Asparagus, Tomatoes, Quinoa

What’s the hardest workout you have done this week?

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. Way to go with the healthy eats! 🙂 This post kinda’ made me want a pear. Right now. Really badly.

    December 28, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Thanks! It was much needed after the ridiculous amount of sugar I consumed on Christmas…I was amazed at how much I put back. HA! Hope you are having a good week! 🙂

      December 28, 2011
  2. That workout looks awesome – I do something similar but have a hip injury from running so probably shouldn’t be doing lunges and squats.
    Where do you get your cashew almond butter? Target?

    December 28, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      I actually made this one! Here is the recipe that I used from my good friend Lauren’s blog. It’s delicious. I didn’t use the coconut flakes, but next time I will, because it will make it a lot creamier. 🙂 http://newestobsession.com/2011/12/10/nognut-butter/

      December 28, 2011
  3. Yummy eats! 🙂 I had almonds and cashews as a snack today too. I always have to portion nuts out because otherwise I’ll eat a gazillion of them in one sitting. 😛

    Happy WIAW!

    December 28, 2011
  4. This is a great workout Kathleen! One I am sure gets you going and sweating, helpful for post christmas recovery!
    Mmm pears… I need to these more often!

    December 28, 2011
  5. i swear we are eating twins and circuit twins. Good stuff woman!

    December 28, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      HA! That’s so awesome…Great Beautiful Minds think alike! 😉

      December 28, 2011
  6. ahh I’ve been loving Quinoa lately!! I’m going to post my Quinoa Protein Salad recipe tomorrow! Your eats look delish! :] gotta love working off the Christmas sleepiness! ;]

    December 28, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      I cannot wait to see your recipe! I’m always looking for new ways to use the leftover Quinoa. I’ve got to remember to check back…Have a wonderful Wednesday!

      December 28, 2011
  7. This looks like an awesome circuit! I cannot wait to try it.

    December 28, 2011
  8. Your yogurt mix looks wonderful!

    December 28, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Thank you! I love mixing/experimenting with Greek yogurt additions! Pears are so sweet and delicious right now, they make breakfast taste like a sweet treat. Have a wonderful Wednesday!

      December 28, 2011
  9. Holy moly. That workout would kick my butt! (I guess that’s the point, right?)

    December 28, 2011
  10. The workout sounds great…I know I’m in need of a good routine after all the indulging over the weekend!

    December 28, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Lately I’ve been all about the “at-home” workouts and this one is great! Grab those dumbbells and get to it! Let me know if you try it out and how it goes. Have a wonderful Thursday and thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

      December 29, 2011
  11. Nice work with the weight routine and eats! Everything looks so nutritious!

    December 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

