Skip to content

Balance + Holidays = Really?

Is it REALLY possible to achieve balance during the holidays? YES IT IS POSSIBLE! It may take a little bit more work, but it is worth the extra effort, and your mind and body will thank you in the New Year. I’ve recently become a Fitness Ambassador for FitFluential and this has been the much talked about topic. First of all, if you haven’t checked out FitFluential, this is an amazing group of people, who are inspiring, driven, and fit. I’m very honored to be a part of this community. So take some time to learn more about us and how we strive to live healthy year round…Even during the holidays. 

Let’s be honest, it is hard to stay motivated and eat healthy during this time of year with so many holiday parties, cookie recipes being e-mailed to you daily, running around not normal to the mall, dealing with in-laws, traveling, and lack of sleep. I’m sure we could go on and on with reasons, but stop making excuses! You’ve worked so hard this year to get to this point of eating well and working out on a regular basis, so why throw it all out the door? These are my 5 tips to staying BALANCED this holiday season. I use these for myself, but also have suggested these to my clients.

5 Healthy Tips for Staying Balance this Holiday Season:

  1. Plan Your Workouts: It’s hard to get to the gym during this time of year, when you have so many other obligations to attend to. It can be a little chaotic and might not leave you with as much training time that you usually allot for yourself. So to solve this problem, I recommend that the night before, you look at your schedule; see how much time you have; and write it down, so that when you wake up the next day, you have no excuses. Be flexible, be creative, and keep your workouts interesting, so you don’t get bored. Try at-home circuits, a new class at the gym, get outside and soak up that Vitamin D.
  2. Plan Your Meals: Just like your workouts, planning your meals helps you stay focused and decreases the chances of you cheating or making excuses to order “take out” pizza. Use your slow-cooker! A great easy/budget friendly/healthy way to make a meal for the week. Store the leftovers and use for lunch/dinner. The same goes with roasting vegetables. Having these healthy options in your fridge makes it easier to whip up lunch or dinner, without thinking too much.

  3. Lots of Water: Stay hydrated! This should come as no surprise, when at this time of year you are consuming much more alcohol and salty foods that you aren’t typically used to. So drink that water! Keep a water bottle with you at all times…at your desk, in the car, purse, and of course always with you when you go to the gym. Bored of water…add cucumber, lemon, berries, to spice it up!
  4. Treat Yourself: Yes I am suggesting you have that glass of wine or that peppermint bark, just not everyday and not in ridiculous quantities! It’s important to not deprive yourself of the things you love. Plus, when you don’t satisfy these cravings, they can sometimes back fire, which then can lead to binging (never a good feeling). I’ve said this in other posts and I’ll say it again. It’s about moderation. With so many delicious treats this time of year, I suggest you treat yourself and enjoy every bite! Peppermint bark only makes an appearance once a year. 😉Source
  5. Breathe: Make sure you take some time out of your day to attend to yourself! Whether it is a yoga class, a pedicure/manicure, or being able to sit down with a delicious cup of coffee, take a few minutes out of your day to just breathe. It’s a good time to be thankful for your health, family, and friends and to remind yourself that even though this time of year can be hard, life could be a lot worse, so take a deep breath, try to relax, and enjoy the life you have.

How do you stay balanced this time of year?

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sam #

    GREAT tips!! planning is what it is all about. and sleeping 🙂

    found you through fitfluential 🙂

    December 15, 2011
  2. Jen #

    i focus on maintaining normal workouts and eating as much as possible so that when i do want to splurge i don’t feel so guilty. i make workouts a priority during the time between thanksgiving and the new year. it’s essential!

    December 16, 2011
  3. I really treat this month like any other. Sure there are a few more things going on, and I indulge in special treats (nothing from a store or something just average) and continue on with my normal life of working out, eating decently, etc.!
    Love your tip to breathe, I think it is a stressful time for a lot of people which could cause stress-eating, not exercising, etc.

    December 16, 2011
  4. I definitely plan my workouts before the rest of my day – otherwise I’ll get sidetracked and end up skipping them. I allow myself a small indulgence every day, usually in the form of chocolate, but that’s no different than the rest of the year. I love this post – great tips! Yay for being a FitFluential ambassador!

    December 16, 2011
  5. Adriane Young #

    Someone you know very well brought that peppermint bark to the office!

    December 16, 2011
  6. These are great tips girl! I am all about balance through out the entire year. It is what keeps my health in check! I know some RDs/people don’t believe in moderation but I think it is the key to success.

    December 18, 2011
  7. Using the slow cooker is an awesome tip. And definitely planning meals. Because I know we will go for take out on busy nights (even thought I cringe at most take out) during the holiday season.

    December 18, 2011
  8. ah, holiday balance. great tips – its easy to talk about this stuff for me but hard to follow through! the meal planning is key. 🙂

    December 19, 2011
  9. I work out, but I also eat a lot of junk. It doesn’t balance evenly, but it’s as much balance as I care to achieve. I try not to go too overboard. 🙂

    December 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

