Skip to content

Kicking Off the Week…

I’m not exactly sure where Monday went, but it has come and gone, along with a wonderful Thanksgiving! My family and I had a relaxing, long weekend on Nantucket. The weather was perfect, the island was peaceful, and the food and wine delicious. We haven’t spent Thanksgiving as a family on Nantucket, since I was in high school, and I’m so glad I persuaded my Mom to make the trip up there…It was 100% worth it. She gave me a High-Five! It also helped that it was sunny and warm, so that the dogs were able to go on long walks and I was even able to run in shorts and a long sleeve t-shirt. No complaints here.

Now back to reality, a new week, the start of a new month, and the holiday season…I FINALLY was feeling normal today after the weekend festivities. I thought I was eating well and training enough, but honestly, eating out a few times, too much wine, and salty foods, caught up with me on Saturday evening. It was not a pretty site. 

So How Do I Get “Back on Track”? This is what I do and what I did this time…Because let’s be honest, I have slip-ups and they don’t just occur once a year, they happen, because I’m human and I like good food, wine, and sweets. I used to beat myself up, when this would happen, but it’s too exhausting, and not worth it. We are too hard on ourselves. So I just look forward, plan my meals, workouts, and never look back. This is what I did:

  1. Yoga! So when I woke up on Sunday, it was time to start a clean slate. Thankfully we didn’t hit any traffic on the way home, so I was able to take a 4:00 PM Hot Vinyasa Class at Powerflow. It wasn’t one of my best classes, but the sweating, twisting, and balancing, did wonders.
  2. Sleep! Apparently I was pretty tired, because I fell asleep at 9:30 PM. I woke up refreshed and ready to tackle my to-do list. Having a good solid night of sleep does wonders both mentally and physically.
  3. Food Shopping! I grabbed a cup of coffee and stocked up my fridge with LOTS of fresh fruit and vegetables, that would last me through the weekend. No excuses to not prepare healthy, fresh, home cooked meals. You can always make time.
  4. Hard Workouts! The one I did at the gym today was a sweaty mess, but exactly what I needed. I tackled 35 minutes on the Step Mill and a chest and core workout. I even had beads of sweat on my forearms. HA! That was a first.
  5. Plan out my meals! I kicked off the day with a Pear Protein Pancake and had clean eats all day and I feel Great!
  6. Stay positive; drink lots of water; tackle one day at a time; and ENJOY the holiday season. I cannot wait to go shopping for a Christmas tree and decorations. I love this time of year!

What helps you get back on track from a big weekend? Are you hard on yourself or are you able to look forward to the week ahead?

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Forearm sweat is LEGIT! 😉

    November 28, 2011
  2. Wine in Spain is cheaper than bottled water, which is a problem – I totally feel your pains from overindulging! My fridge looks just like yours – I did a huge grocery shop, planned some epic meals, have loads of fruit and veggies in the fridge and am plotting my next butt-kicking workout!

    November 28, 2011
  3. yes! sweat it out woman. great start! love the puppers too.

    November 29, 2011
  4. Amy #

    I get right back in the gym and stay clean with my eating

    November 29, 2011
  5. planning out meals and workouts for the week always helps me get back on track and motivated. instead of being hard on myself i use it as motivation to get back on track and it always works!

    November 29, 2011
  6. Great call on the meal planning. It can be hard to do this during the holidays with so many parties and trips, but it definitely helps me avoid going overboard on the meals I do make at my own place. It also helps me figure out where I can sneak in some extra protein or veggies!

    November 29, 2011
  7. Great reminders to get back on track after a routine is out of sync! Sounds like you had a fabulous trip to Nantucket! Wow! Love the pic of your goldens!

    November 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

