Skip to content

Random Stuff

Cheers to a short week! Looking forward to getting away this Thanksgiving and spending time with family, the dogs, and soaking up the salt water air, on wonderful Nantucket! My family used to spend Thanksgiving on the island for years, but we stopped when I was in high school, because of our crazy school & athletic schedules.  So this will be the first time we’ve gone back to celebrate, and I cannot wait. I love family traditions and I love Nantucket, especially during the holidays. 🙂

Anyway…I hope that everyone had a wonderful weekend! I was fortunate to see some incredible friends in NYC. A delicious dinner, wine, Dave Matthews, and then brunch with a very dear friend, who I met when I lived in Denver. Now that we both live on the east coast, we were FINALLY able meet and do some serious catching up. We’ve both come so far since we met each other in Denver, both personally and professionally, and it was so refreshing to talk about so many wonderful things that both of us have going on in our lives. Life is good!

“Friends who believe in you when others do not, friends who tell you can do it, when you fear otherwise, friends are a gift”

Wow, I just realized how random this post is turning out to be…HA! Thanksgiving, friends, healthy food, and a workout, all in one post! I’ll stop blabbing and let you try out my pumpkin protein pancakes and a treadmill workout I did on Friday. Let me know what you think. I love feedback!

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes:

  • 1 scoop unflavored Natural Factors
  • 1 whole egg + 1 egg white
  • 1/2 c pumpkin
  • 2 T unsweetened almond milk + 2 T water
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1 “heaping” T of sunflower butter
  • 1 serving of fruit

Mix the first 4 ingredients together in a small bowl. Set a frying pan to medium-high heat. Pour batter into frying pan and cook for about 5 minutes and then flip. Top with pumpkin pie spice, fruit, and nut butter of your choice. ENJOY!

40 Minute Treadmill Workout:

  • 3 minutes – 5.5 mph
  • 3 minutes – 6.0 mph
  • 3 minutes – 6.5 mph
  • 3 minutes – 4.0 mph – 8 incline
  • 3 minutes – 4.0 mph – 10 incline
  • 3 minutes – 4.0 mph – 12 incline
  • 2 minutes – 5.5 mph
  • 3 minutes – 6.0 mph
  • 3 minutes – 6.5 mph
  • 3 minutes – 7.0 mph
  • 3 minutes – 4.0 mph – 8 incline
  • 3 minutes – 4.0 mph – 10 incline
  • 3 minutes – 4.0 mph – 12 incline
  • 2 minutes – 4.0 mph

What is the most random thing you did this weekend?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oooh, I really want to try those pumpkin protein pancakes.
    I’ll have to see what kind of protein powder I have in my stash!

    November 21, 2011
  2. i need to come visit you! sounds like my kind of weekend!

    November 21, 2011
  3. That looks like a great treadmill workout! I’ll have to try it next time the weather is crummy and I am stuck in the gym. I wish I was coming to your house for Thanksgiving :-). Have a great one!

    November 21, 2011
  4. Your pancakes sound delicious…I’m putting them on my list of things to make!

    November 23, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      They are so so so good! I absolutely love them and it’s taken a lot of trials to get them exactly to my liking, but this combo just ROCKS! If you try them out, please let me know how it goes. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and you are enjoying the 3 day weekend. Talk soon! 🙂

      November 25, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. December Temptations « Newest Obsession

Leave a Reply

