Skip to content

Just Listen…

Wow what a week this has been and high-fives cause it’s Friday! I just want to thank everyone for their support, help, and comments this past week on the new She Rocks Fitness site. I’m beyond excited for this next chapter in my life and it feels so good to be following my dreams. It’s not easy, and there are going to be lots of bumps in the road, but that’s all part of the learning and growing process, and I’m ready for it. I’m also ready for all the new and old clients whose lives I will change, the people I will meet, and where She Rocks Fitness will go. On that note, let’s just go for it!

This was a week about listening! The next couple of months are going to be hectic, so it’s important that you take care of your health, listen to your body, stay focused on your fitness goals, and breathe. First tip of the holiday season: Write out your workout schedule and meal plan for the week, on Sunday! This will help you stay accountable, cut back on preparing meals, and leave you to focus on other weekly chores. Here’s how I listened this week:

Clients:

The beginning of the week started off with very energized and motivated clients. Towards the end of the week, the energy had significantly changed and everyone was POOPED, including myself. Not sure if it was the change in temperature, the rainy weather, or the stress of the holidays right around the corner, but everyone was struggling. So I listened to my client’s bodies! I made sure that they spent extra time stretching and allowed them to do some restorative yoga poses that would help them relax, breathe, and find their balance. Mission accomplished.

Nutrition:

It’s all about EGGS. For the past two weeks, instead of having my “heaping” tablespoon of PB for an afternoon snack, I’ve tried a hard boiled egg and an apple to change it up and just cut back on my PB consumption, because I go through a lot of it. I enjoy this snack. It keeps me full and provides a lot of nutrients. I’ve also realized that I’ve had 4 meatless days this week and it wasn’t even planned. Just like my workouts, I just listened to my body and ate what I was craving.

Workout Schedule:

It was a yoga kind of week! As you can see by my workout schedule, I did a LOT of yoga. Yoga does wonders for me both physically and mentally. I also hurt my lower back while doing deadlifts this week and yoga helped me stretch and listen to my body.. I may have not advanced much in my poses, but yoga was more about healing this week and it worked.

  • Saturday: 9.5 mile run
  • Sunday: Vinyasa Hot Yoga – 1:15 Minutes
  • Monday: 30 Minutes Cardio & Leg Workout
  • Tuesday: 45 Minutes Cardio & Chest & Triceps Circuit
  • Wednesday: Vinyasa Hot Yoga – 1:15 Minutes
  • Thursday: Vinyasa Hot Yoga – 1:15 Minutes
  • Friday: 30 Minutes Cardio & Back & Biceps Workout
  • Saturday: OFF

How have you listened this week?

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thank you for the reminder. It is important to listen and to make this priority. I have been pig headed about my training recently had have been trying to meet my goals of running a marathon over the course of a week every week despite my niggling hip injury which has been getting progressively worse. I’m going to stop and listen…and maybe find a good Chiro!
    Good luck in your new journey!
    Nicola

    November 18, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      It’s sometimes really hard to listen to your body, especially when you have a nagging injury! Have you thought of doing some yoga? I have found hip openers in Vinyasa have helped me a great deal with my running. Take care of that hip and have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

      November 18, 2011
  2. I ended up taking an impromptu rest day on Wednesday even though I had a chest, abs, and spin workout planned. I was so glad I did, because the next day I felt great on my 5 mile run. And since my last two runs haven’t gone so well, having a good run left me motivated for the next one!

    Still wish I could figure out what is going on with my shoulder though…

    November 18, 2011
  3. I have a terrible cold and have kept up with yoga and strength training but dropped most of my cardio for the week.

    November 18, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      How’s your cold? Feeling any better? I find doing cardio when I’m sick is very exhausting and sometimes nauseating. At least you kept up with your workouts, despite being sick. Hope you had an awesome weekend!

      November 20, 2011
  4. I love Ashtanga and used to practice daily but got out of the habit for some reason. I’ll start it again. It really is the best exercise for me – body and mind!

    November 20, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Let me know when you get back into it…Yoga does wonders for the mind and body. I’m currently loving doing it a night. So nice to come out of a hot studio, go home, and be fully relaxed. You should make it your “holiday goal” to get back into it again. Keep me posted! 🙂

      November 20, 2011
  5. Mmm i’ve been craving eggs lately, but haven’t actually purchased them yet! LOL! Its been years since I’ve actually eaten them…..

    xxoo

    November 21, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Years since you eaten eggs? HA! That’s a long time! I didn’t used to eat them like this, but like I’ve said, they are so inexpensive, healthy, and versatile. You can do so much with them, it’s hard to say no. Hope you had a wonderful weekend! 🙂

      November 21, 2011

Leave a Reply

