Skip to content

Make Up By Lacey

High-Fives to Friday and to awesome friends! I know it’s hard to believe that I’m not doing a food or workout post, but sometimes we all need a change…and a fun one of course. I may wear yoga pants, my hair in a ponytail, and sneakers on a daily basis, but deep down, I’m a girly girl and love dressing up and doing my hair and makeup. I clean up quite nicely. 😉 So, I asked my good friend Lacey, who I met a couple of years ago, while I lived in Denver to share with all of you her “5 Favorite Finds for Athletic Women”. Lacey is the owner and founder of Makeup by Lacey. If you are in the Denver area, make sure to contact her for questions, advice, or events that you need to get dolled up for. She’s an amazing make-up artist, a great friend, and a athletic woman! Take it away Lacey and THANKS!

Hi there! My name is Lacey Klein. I’m a makeup artist in Denver, CO, and I am so excited to be writing a guest blog for She Rocks Fitness!  My works takes me in all directions, from photo shoots, to editorial, to updating models portfolios, to brides, to makeup lessons for women who want a refresher on makeup application and product recommendations, and even teens who’s moms hire me to show their precious girls how to wear age-appropriate makeup (that they are all to willing to liberally apply no matter what it is…omg, when I’m a mom…lol!).

This was a super fun blog for me to write because I got to combine every day practicality, with a few fun current trends for you all to try out. I’m going to start with my 5 Favorite Finds for Athletic Women, and end with my 5 Favorite Fall Trends for 2011.

 My 5 Favorite Finds for Athletic Women

**A Fun fact about the main brand I use and recommend for long-lasting and             waterproof makeup (and why it works so well no matter how hard you sweat), is             that Make Up For Ever’s Dany Sanz originally created many products from this             line for performers of water ballet!  Anything and everything I mention in my blogs I have personally used or currently use on my clients and myself.

Concealer: Make Up For Ever’s Full Cover Concealer. It’s a truly waterproof, full coverage concealer that works better they you would even hope. Enough said!

Foundation: I absolutely adore Make Up For Ever’s Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation. This stuff provides beautiful, natural coverage, and is very water-resistant. No sweat lines down the cheeks with this product. 🙂

Mascara: Lancôme’s HYPNÔSE DRAMA WATERPROOF. I can’t speak more highly of this product. It was I personally use for waterproof makeup, what I use for all my photo shoots, and also what I use on all my brides. I haven’t had a bad experience yet. I have time and time again worn this product in the rain, literally swam laps in it, and still have never had dark under my eyes after.

Eyes: Make Up For Ever’s Aqua Liner (which is a liquid liner) or their Aqua Eye (pencil). These are both 100% waterproof, smudge-proof, and completely dependable even in the rain.

Lips: Make Up For Ever’s Aqua Lip Waterproof Lip liner Pencil. Like the Aqua Eye, but for lips. It truly is waterproof and long-lasting, but not at all drying…one of the problems I find many “waterproof” products. It’s a creamy, velvety consistency that I love. The best thing though? You can apply your favorite chap stick over it time and time again, and it will still stay on.

Now to the Fun Stuff!…My 5 Favorite Fall Trends for 2011!

Colored nail polish: This is probably my favorite trend for fall, for a few reasons. I’m a pretty casual dresser, and even when I got out at night, I tent to stick toward clothing colors that aren’t exactly, well, “vibrant.” I suppose I’m kind of a creature of habitat at times.  That said, I really think that doing a bold, bright, or otherwise unique color on your nails is the easiest, least-intimidating and affordable way to try a new trend and have fun, while still feeling 100% like yourself.  I have seen so many women lately that are out running errands, etc., in jeans and a t-shirt, but they have a fabulous manicure with some really cool color, and it looks fantastic and soooo very chic.

My favorites that I have seen so far this season are:

  • Butter London Nail Lacquer in Toff, $14 (A darker variation on rose pink.)
  • MAC Nail Lacquer in Purple Majesty, $15 (This color is gorgeous!)
  • NARS Nail Polish in Galion, $17 (An awesome slate grey.)
  • Essie Nail Polish in Going Incognito (A fabulous, light royal blue.)

Matte Lipstick: I am so happy matte lipstick is back in style. It adds instant sophistication and looks so beautiful on creamy skin. Gloss is always fun, but try something new next time you go out, and stick to a matte lip. Its modern, chic, and on trend this season! I couldn’t be more excited about this.

Some product suggestion to check out:

Super affordable, and used by even the most discerning makeup artists out there. If you are on a budget (and ever if you aren’t!), you have to try:

  • NYX’s Matte Lipstick. I adore this product, and love how shocked at the high quality everyone is when I first recommend it to them! Colors I love right now are Hippy Chic, Pale Pink, and Merlot. Luckily, they are affordable enough to try more then one! Don’t bother going to their website because they are all sold out. The best place to find them is usually Ulta.
  • Sephora Brand’s Maniac Mat Long Wearing Matte Lipstick. Especially love it in 05, 08 and 09.
  • NARS Pure Matte Lipstick.

Graphic (or double winged) Eyeliner: I have been doing this look as a makeup artist for a while now, but I love that it has gone mainstream as a trend for Fall 2011. Here is a great link for how to do it, and products to use. I think all the products they suggest are great. Just keep pointed Q-tips and eye makeup remover close buy, and please, practice before you plan on wearing it for a night out. I love using a flash car or even blue tape to do the lines: http://www.bellasugar.com/How-Get-Double-Winged-Eye-Makeup-Look-Like-Chanel-Iman-14587713.

Monochrome Eyes and Lips: I love how this trend can make anyone look instantly modern and fresh. I tend to stay with neutral shades for this look. For example, a light/warm tan or brown on the eyelid, going just slightly up into the crease at the outer corner of the eye, and a matching or complementary color on the lips, like a brownish nude or peachy color. Depending on your skin tone, you can really have fun playing around with monochrome colors and finding which complements you when worn on the eyes and lips. Just a suggestion: I would keep the rest of the face fairly matte and simple and let the monochrome eyes and lips be the focus. Also, try to keep the same texture on the eyes and lips as well (i.e.: forgo the lip gloss).  Any cream eye shadow would be perfect for this look, since it can be used on the lips as well.

Metallic Eye Shadow (but only up to a point): This fall I am seeing the “metallic smoky eye” all over the place. It’s definitely a cool trend, but one that could be easy to go overboard with if you aren’t careful. I am loving the controlled use of metallic shadow (especially warm, coppery colors!) at the inner corner of the eye. For an evening look or for a holiday event, I also love the metallic shadow in place of eye liner, especially for the bottom lash line. To make sure it stays in place all night, use a cream shadow, or if using a powdered shadow, a good primer will do wonders. My favorite is Urban Decay’s Eye shadow Primer Potion.  I use this on the lids, lips, and even under the eye before applying concealer sometimes!  If you can find a shade of metallic shadow to compliment your natural eye color as well, it will make your eyes sparkle and pop even more…especially at night!

Makeup By Lacey

Website:www.makeupbylacey.com

Makeup by Lacey

Email:lacey@makeupbylacey.com

Makeup by Lacey

Blog:blog.makeupbylacey.com

Makeup by Lacey

Twitter: _makeupbylacey

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh, Lacey. This old haggard housewife needs HELP! Wish I still lived in Denver! But thanks for the tips…going to pick up some colored nail polish, maybe the Purple one.

    October 28, 2011
  2. This is wonderful! I never spend time or very much money on my makeup, but when I do, it really makes me feel good about myself. This is giving me some extra motivation to do something to make myself feel good this weekend. Thank you.

    October 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

