Skip to content

My 4 Fall Essentials!

Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY…Winner will be announced on Thursday morning!

It’s a new week, new day, and as always a great way to start the week fresh with healthy eating, and kick butt workouts! I typically start my Mondays bright and early, with coffee, a stellar breakfast, and then yoga at Powerflow! Sundays are my well earned rest day, so diving right into hot yoga first thing on Monday is a great way to clear my mind, sweat out the toxins, and stretch it all out before the week begins. It feels oh so good!

Let’s talk about “My 4 Fall Essentials”! These are 4 things that I have been using on a consistent basis for the past month and 4 things that well I’ve been obsessing about, but are important to my health and strength.

  1. Pumpkin: Ever since pumpkin was available in the stores this season, I’ve been eating it on a regular basis (aka-obsessed). It’s just flat-out delicious, healthy, and versatile. In the blogging world, as soon as fall rolls around, the abundance of recipes that are posted daily are through the roof (soups, smoothies, muffins, pancakes, casseroles…) It’s amazing how creative people can get with pumpkin. But let’s talk about the health benefits and why you should be eating it this fall: rich in anti-oxidants & beta-carotene; slows down the aging process; low in calories & fat; and is filled with iron, zinc, fiber, Vitamins C & E, riboflavin, and potassium. High-Fives!

    Pumpkin Smoothie

    Pumpkin Oats

    Pumpkin Pancake

  2. Wide Barbell Squat: Oh these babies BURN and I love them! This past month I’ve recently taken a step back from so much emphasis on endurance training and taken more of a focus on strength training. It’s a nice change and I’m already seeing changes in my physique and a serious increase in my appetite. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, these squats are powerful. They mainly work the quadriceps, but also focus on the glutes, hamstrings, lower back, and calves. Why you should include this in your strength training regimen: helps develop overall strength; sends your fat burning metabolism through the roof; and increases the muscle mass in your lower body.
  3. Protein: Since I have increased my strength training, I have also increased my protein intake. My main sources of protein are: eggs, chicken, steak, tuna fish, whey protein, and Greek yogurt. Why is protein so important in your daily eats: supports the growth & maintenance of body tissues; builds antibodies; maintains fluid & electrolyte balance; repairs exercise-associated muscle damage; and provides energy & glucose. Source. Check out my friend Lauren’s piece on a Lesson in Protein. This is a great read that is straight to the point!

    Tuna Salad

    Eggs & Ground Venison

    Green Monster Smoothie

  4. Bridge Pose: This is a beautiful pose that is not only a regular in my yoga practice, but I also use with many of my clients. Lately in my yoga practice, I have been experiencing some lower back pain, especially when I go into wheel. So, I’ve taken a step back and focused on bridge and working on the basics to build up my strength and to take the pain out of the lower back. I’m doing this by grounding the feet, using the legs, and lifting the chest. Oh it feels so good! So what are the benefits of bridge pose: stretches the chest, neck, and spine; rejuvenates tired legs; improves digestion; and calms the brain & helps alleviate stress & mild depression. Source

Do you have a Monday routine that you follow on a consistent basis?

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. My favorite spin class :)! Gonna try that pumpkin smoothies. It looks amazing!

    October 17, 2011
  2. I typically make Monday’s a rest day and I set aside the extra 1-2 hours I am normally exercising to do something enjoyable such as reading a book, getting some volunteer work done, or spending quality time with my fiance and cat. Making Monday my rest day seems to start the work week off in a nice and relaxing way…

    October 17, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      What book are you reading these days? I’m still involved with Harry Potter, but always up for some new suggestions. I know you are doing a strength training workout today and look forward to hearing how it goes later this evening. Hope you had a nice lunch and Monday isn’t too painful!

      October 17, 2011
  3. My routine = up at 5, leave house at 5:30, start sweating at 5:45, leave gym at 7:40, work (sigh) at 8:30 – Today’s workout felt great, and I’m glad I did it.

    Gotta love bridge pose! Bridge, triangle and happy baby are my top 3.

    October 17, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      High-Fives woman for being able to get up that early! I love triangle as well. It feels oh so good on the hips and hamstrings, especially for us runners. Hope you are having a good Monday!

      October 17, 2011
  4. LOVE pumpkin–you have reminded me! Those squats remind me of sumo style ones–and boy do they get those hard to reach places!!

    October 17, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Exactly! I hate them, but love them, because they work that booty! Did you watch the Jersey Shore yet? When you do, you have to let me know what you thought. It was meatball mania and I was secretly laughing out loud. Got to love TV that requires absolutely NO THINKING! Have a great Monday!

      October 17, 2011
  5. I’m a new reader so I don’t really know your “food past”, but can I just say how REFRESHING it is to see STEAK on your list of protein choices!! In the land of food restrictions (aka, most healthy living blogs), you rarely see meat. I like meat. I like you.

    October 17, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Thanks Lindsay! I love red meat and I’m not afraid to eat it. I will usually eat it once a week. My body craves it and I need that protein, so why deprive myself of it. I’m going to experiment with venison these next couple of weeks and see what I can come up with. HA! I like you as well and thanks for following me. Have a wonderful Monday!

      October 17, 2011
  6. Awesome! I love pumpkin too! IT’s one of my fall favorites and I haven’t even touched it yet! Grr! I’m not on the ball! ha

    Sorry I haven’t gotten that guest post to you yet! I’ve been SO busy! What is your deadline again?

    October 17, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Hey Girl! It’s totally okay about the guest post. How would you feel about me doing it for next Monday? Would that give you enough time? E-Mail me and let me know if this would work for you. If not, we can reschedule when you have more time. I don’t want this to be a nuisance for you. Can’t wait to catch up soon and get on that pumpkin train! πŸ˜‰

      October 17, 2011
  7. mjcoun14 #

    What is the recipe for the pumpkin smoothie? YUM!

    October 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

