Skip to content

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Muffins

I love when Jocelyn sends me recipes! It always brings a smile to my face, because her recipes are to die for. She shares my obsession for almond butter, pumpkin, chocolate covered almonds, and a delicious glass of red wine. On the healthier side, we both love running, hot yoga, and intense circuit training. 🙂 It’s all about BALANCE.  Jocelyn was my first client and one of my closest friends when I lived in Denver. Even though she is thousands of miles away, I still train her on-line and love following her progress. She is super mom! Anyway, this post is about her Whole Wheat Pumpkin Muffins, so read below, try them out, and enjoy the fall flavors! YUMMY!

Jocelyn Ege

On Friday mornings I always bake, it has become a sort of ritual for me to mark the start of the weekend in a healthy way.  It’s my reward for eating well all week and a chance to eat some good carbs before my Saturday morning long run.  I am always experimenting with ways to make healthy and low fat options and for fall there’s no better way than by adding pumpkin!

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1  1/4 cups whole wheat flour (I like to use pastry flour)
  • ¼ cup ground flaxseed
  • ½ cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¾ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons agave syrup
  • 1/3 cup greek yogurt

optional but delicious:

  • ½ cup dried cranberries
  • ½ cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

1)   Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray or line a 12 cup muffin tin.  Place the cranberries in a cup and cover them with warm water.  This makes them nice and plump.  It also helps to soak off some of the sweetener if you are using craisins.

2)    In a large bowl mix your dry ingredients, including sugar, together and stir with a whisk until well mixed.  In another bowl, beat eggs then add pumpkin, oil, syrup and greek yogurt.  Note, if you measure the canola oil before the agave, the agave wont stick to the tablespoons.

3)   Form a well in the dry ingredients and add wet, stir until combined but do not over mix.  Fold in cranberries and walnuts at this point.   Spoon mix in to muffins cups, about 2/3 full.  This should make 12 – 14 muffins.

4)   Bake for 16 minutes then check, should take no more than 18 minutes to be done.

5)   Cool and enjoy!  Top with greek yogurt and diced pear for a fall breakfast or slice in half and pile with turkey and spinach for a super healthy sandwich.

Approximate nutrition:  255 calories and 9 grams of fat (mostly from nuts!).  These are low sodium and low cholesterol as well with healthy protein from yogurt, nuts and lots of vitamin A from the pumpkin.

Sweet!

Savory!

Do you crave savory or sweet for breakfast?

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yum these look so good I love pumpkin!

    October 10, 2011
  2. Those look great. I’m really a muffin fanatic. This reminds me of some good dark choc chip pumpkin muffins I made last year. Hmmmm, perhaps I should go find that recipe…

    October 10, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Yes please! Chocolate and pumpkin are a delightful combo. When you find that recipe, make sure to send it to me. 🙂 I’m on a pumpkin tear this October…Have a wonderful Monday!

      October 10, 2011
  3. Oh these sound delicious! Bring on the pumpkin girl 🙂

    October 10, 2011
  4. Yumm! These look perfect for fall. I alternate between sweet and savory for breakfast. But if I go for savory, I crave something sweet for my mid-morning snack or lunch.

    October 10, 2011
  5. I crave both 🙂 This morning I had fried apple pancakes with a side of egg whites and cottage cheese. Most of the time? Sweet. I am so BAD!

    October 10, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Can you please send me the apple pancakes recipe? Besides pumpkin, I’ve been inhaling apples as well. I’d love to see that recipe! Congrats on your run this past weekend!

      October 10, 2011
  6. Yum! I typically crave sweet – but every now and then, nothing sounds better than eggs and spinach cooked in a little butter:)

    October 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

