Skip to content

My Friends ROCK…Part II

Oh it’s Monday and the last week of September…ALREADY! Fall is upon us and have you started to think of what your goals are for the month of October? Signed up for any events? Thought about some clean eating recipes to tackle? This is a great time of year to take advantage of the cooler temperatures, foliage, and the fall flavors: apples, sweet potatoes, butternut squash, and of course PUMPKIN! 😉 

To start off this week on a positive note, I want to share with you another one of my friends who ROCKS! I met Mallory on Nantucket this summer. She is very close with my sisters and couldn’t believe how long it took me to meet her. She is beautiful, hilarious, strong, and a killer athlete. We talk constantly about training, workout attire, and of course FOOD. We are somewhat “new” friends, but look forward to the growth of our friendship and watching her succeed in her athletic endeavours. I think it is really important to share with all of you REAL WOMEN, who are successful both professionally and physically. It’s motivating to me, to have so many friends who despite their hectic schedules, spend hours training to achieve their goals. I’ve learned so much about them, what inspires them, how they train, and why the do it. So with that being said…here is Mallory’s story! Thanks Girl for sharing!

Trisuit

Because sports have been such a constant focus in my life, I went through a bit of a withdrawal once D1 hockey was over. Going to the gym, and running on my own, wasn’t nearly as fun or challenging. Last August, I was asked by my spin instructor to compete in a local all female triathlon (sprint distance – shortest triathlon race). I trained minimal and ended up 24th overall and 2nd in my age group. After this performance I was asked to compete on a triathlon team based out of Indianapolis, T3 Multisport. I set my goals for 2011 to initially be an Olympic Distance Triathlon in June -Leon’s Triathlon, and a HIM in July, Muncie Ironman. After these two races I really had the itch to do just one additional race this season, Rohto Miami 70.3 Ironman in October (I will also be running the Chicago Marathon October 9th)…furthermore I have committed to the US Ironman Championships in NY/NJ for 2012 – I will be competing on behalf of a charity called the Covenant House.

Training

My training (depending on the race distance thus far) has ranged from 8-14 hours per week. I am an early riser, not by choice, but I typically have my workouts completed by 7am every morning. On some days I will need to split the workouts swim in the morning, bike in the evening, depending in the length or distance of the workout.

Ironman

I am a fairly healthy eater, but I do have a REAL SWEET TOOTH! However, I cheat one day a week, and try to keep it at that. Cheating for my diet typically entails a cupcake, an ice cream dish, pizza, or something of that sort. Although you burn 1000s of calories training for Ironmans your diet is beyond crucial and can make/break your race.

Go Girl Sprint: 1:10:06
Leon’s Olympic: 2:42:55
Muncie Half Ironman: 5:39:35

Who has inspired you this month? What is your favorite inspirational quote?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

