Skip to content

Endurance Training: WIAW!

High-Fives it’s almost the weekend and vacation for me! I’m so looking forward to getting away for a few days with a good friend and my family. I need a break from my everyday routine. The past few weeks have felt like I’ve just been in cruise control doing the same thing day after day. I know I’m not the only one who gets into ruts like this and usually a good way to get out of one is to GET AWAY and enjoy life, clear the mind, and just have some FUN! I think all of these will be accomplished. 🙂

Let’s talk food and what I typically eat the night before and day of during endurance training. Endurance training for me are runs that are over 35 minutes and bike rides that are over an hour. This is something that I’ve spent most of the summer improving physically, but also have been experimenting with nutritionally. I will dedicate another post that goes into greater depth about eating for endurance training, but I wanted to share with you, what works for me.

Eating and training is all about experimenting. It is about what works for YOU! You have to be willing to try different fruits, nuts, oats, yogurts, smoothies, proteins, that fuel you through time consuming workouts. You should look at this as being fun, because what better way to experiment with delicious and healthy foods to make you perform better! Plus now there are so many great resources, books, recipes, and bloggers to follow and use as support systems and ask advice. My favorite go-to ladies are Lauren Anderson of Newest Obsession and Lindsay Cotter of Cotter Crunch. Reach out to your friends who have knowledge, passion, and want to see you succeed. So so so important!

Below is what I ate before tackling a 1:06 minute run this Wednesday. I felt awesome, fueled, and no soreness or exhaustion. I wanted to go for longer, but I’m waiting for my running belt to come and don’t want to go longer than this without any sort of liquid or gels to keep me fueled. 🙂 Check my meals out…Lots of bright colors, healthy fats, protein, and delicious eats. My appetite is rocking right now and cannot wait to prepare dinner.

Tuesday Pre-Run Dinner:

  • 1x medium sweet potato (microwave for 5 minutes)
  • 1 c ground turkey with black beans, onion, peppers, taco seasoning (leftovers)
  • 1x small handful cheddar cheese
  • Lots of lettuce & tomatoes
  • Topped with mango salsa

Fuel-Me-Up Breakfast:

Kitchen Sink Lunch:

  • 1 grilled chicken breast
  • 1/4 c chickpeas
  • 1/2 c beets
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • 1x tomato
  • Handful of spinach
  • 1/4 avocado
  • Seasonings, mustard, and some balsamic vinegar

Perfect Green Monster Smoothie:

  • 1 scoop whey protein powder (plain)
  • 1 apple
  • 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 6 ice cubes + some water
  • 1/4 avocado
  • Handful of spinach
  • Dash of cinnamon

What is the best advice you have received when it comes to intense training? Do you have a favorite “snack or gel” that you carry with you on long training sessions?

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. oh looks great katie! i love the kitchen sink lunch. Favorite gel is plain GU, i know exciting. But I also like to carry my homemade fuel cookies on long runs. Yum!

    August 31, 2011
  2. wow girl those look fabulous 🙂 I def need to try a green monster smooothie! i heard they’re amazing! my fav snack is anything with pbc to get some extra energy 🙂 xo

    September 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

