Skip to content

Archive for

Back and Core Workout

Hello Monday! It’s SPECTACULAR outside today and it’s supposed to be like this all week…I’m planning on doing most of my workouts outdoors! Are you? After being cooped up inside all weekend, get your booties outside and run, walk, hike, bike, or even do a outdoor circuit. 🙂 Don’t let these last few weeks of summer slip on by!

My Monday workout included a hour run through the woods. A lot of the roads are still closed, so it was just nature, the pavement, and ME. The past week my running has been awesome. The combination of yoga, biking, and strength training has made me feel so strong. Plus, I’ve been making changes to my eating to fuel my increased endurance training and can totally feel a difference. I’m actually considering signing up for a Rock n’ Roll 1/2 Marathon in Miami with my good friend Val.

After my run, I fueled up on this beast of a salad. My Mom had no power yesterday, so while I was at yoga, she cooked dinner and left me a filet with some sauteed onions. I love meat. 🙂

I have totally gotten side tracked, but the REAL purpose of this post is to share with you a back and core workout that I did last week at the gym. The total time of this workout is about 50-55 minutes. My core was SORE for 2 days. Awesome! Try it out sometime this week and please feel free to e-mail me with any questions. Enjoy!

Perform 3 sets of 15 repetitions of each circuit with a 1-Min rest between each!

  • Lat Pull Down: 1-Wide Grip, 1-Narrow Grip, 1-Reverse Grip
  • Back Extension
  • Bent Over Row with bent elbows
  • Hanging Leg Raise
  • Single Arm Dumbbell Row on Bench
  • Flat Bench Leg Raise
  • Renegade Row
  • Abdominal Crunches on Stability Ball
  • Stability Ball Y Raise
  • Stability Ball T Raise
  • Stability Ball I Raise
  • Side Extension on Stability Ball

Perform Abdominal Circuit Once with a 30 sec rest between each exercise!

  • Side Plank: 1-Minute each side
  • Plank: 1-Minute
  • Bicycle: 30 Seconds
  • Lower Legs: 30 Seconds
  • Russian Twist with Dumbbell: 30 Seconds

What’s your favorite core exercise? Have you planned your workouts for the week?

