Skip to content

Archive for

Enjoy the Day! It’s that Simple!

This morning at Jeff’s class at Powerflow, he asked us to dedicate our practice to something simple. Sometimes easier said then done. But I chose simple and decided to simply “Enjoy the Day”! Mission accomplished! I felt focused, strong, and fearless in today’s class. I decided to push myself just a little bit further in some of the poses that I have been struggling with (forearm balance & handstand scare the heck out of me!) and to remain focused on my breathing. My inversions are making progress and I believe I will tackle these poses when I least expect it…I so desperately want to be able to do forearm balance. As for the breathing, it felt natural, kept me balanced, and allowed me to go much deeper into my poses. Awesome!

Despite the fact that there is a chance my first Century Ride will be postponed this Sunday, because of Hurricane Irene, I still was able to enjoy the day and get through a  good amount on my never-ending to do list…

  1. Early morning clients = Done
  2. Yoga = Done
  3. Homemade Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter = Done
  4. 4 mile run = Done
  5. E-Mails = Done
  6. Mexican Salad for Mom and Me = Done
  7. Business Plan = Avoiding this like the plague! DOH!

We all know my obsession with nut butters, so it will not come as a surprise that I finally decided to try making my own. 🙂 After searching on many blog sites, I finally found one that well, looks heavenly. Thanks to Ashley at the Edible Perspective (which has an abundance of healthy & delicious recipes), I made her Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter. This was very easy and took me a total time of 1 hour. While the almonds were cooling down, I went for a 4 mile run. 

Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter

  • 2c raw almonds
  • 2T maple syrup
  • 1T maple syrup
  • 1.5T molasses
  • 2t cinnamon
  • 1/4t ginger
  • 1/8t nutmeg
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1 1/2T canola oil
  1. Preheat your oven to 300*
  2. Spread the almonds on parchment, on a baking sheet.
  3. Pour on 2T maple syrup + 1T molasses.  Stir.
  4. Roast for 30min, stirring once every 10min.
  5. Take out of the oven and let cool for about 30min.
  6. Dump into your food processor and turn on.
  7. Process + scrape down bowl as needed, until it butterizes. ~15min.  [Past the stage where it has formed a large ball of dough]
  8. Add in 1/2T molasses, 1T maple syrup, 1 1/2T oil, all spices and salt.
  9. Process again until smooth consistency is met.  ~5-8min.  [If you want it even smoother, add another 1/2-1T oil]

I’ve already used a tablespoon of this in my Green Monster Smoothie and I will high-five myself, because it’s that good. Thanks Ashley for this recipe! 🙂

Make sure to check back on Friday for a 50 minute Back and Core workout. I did this yesterday at the gym and could feel my abdominal muscles during my run. Usually a good sign of a workout for me, when they are sore. I hope you all had a wonderful Hump Day and enjoy the rest of the week!

What is your favorite yoga pose? Why?

