Skip to content

Counting Down the Days…

Monday was SPECTACULAR to say the least! After a sticky, humid, pouring down monsoon yesterday, the skies cleared to leave the start of the week with crystal clear skies, no humidity, and “cooler” temperatures. Perfect morning for a run! When you have mornings like this at the end of the summer, you must take advantage of them. I fueled up with a no surprise breakfast favorite:

After inhaling this quite quickly, I laced up my shoes and hit the pavement. I was a little slow in the beginning (to be expected on a Monday morning), but once I got into the groove, I was in the zone. It was one of those runs, that I could have just kept on going and going and going…Yep, it was that good! I controlled myself and ran for 55 minutes and felt great. How could you not want to keep running when you are surrounded by this type of environment…

I love this house! 🙂

The rest of the day included running errands; putting together workouts for clients; new smoothie recipe:

  • 1 scoop whey unflavored protein
  • 1 T honey
  • 2 T almonds
  • 1 c strawberries
  • 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk
  • Handful of spinach
  • Ice Cubes

Inspired by Outside Magazine

a yoga class; and counting down the days until my first century ride on Sunday! Yes, I’m so so so NERVOUS, but also excited and just ready to do it, experience it, and hopefully finish. 🙂 This week I’m focusing on my nutrition and making sure I’m properly hydrated and eating enough of all the good stuff. Workouts this week will not be as intense, but I will be incorporating a ride, strength training, and at least 2 yoga classes to stretch out my hamstrings, clear my mind, and calm my nerves. I get nervous for any event I sign up for and I like the nerves, excitement, and the unknown. I’m also excited, because on Monday, after the ride, one of my old clients is going to give me a Free massage! She owns Table for One in Chatham, NJ. High-Fives!

I hope that if you are on the east coast that you took advantage of this lovely day. 🙂

What is your next event that you’ve signed up for? Do you get nervous? What’s your pre-race meal?

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. good luck!!!! wish I could come cheer you on! Just know I will be in TX cheering!

    August 23, 2011
  2. I’m so excited for you and your century! Smile, smile, smile through each mile. Can’t wait to hear about your fantastic day!

    August 23, 2011

Leave a Reply

