Skip to content

“Before…Middle…”

Happy Monday! I hope that everyone had a nice weekend. It’s another rainy day here in NJ, but I’m actually okay with it. It’s a nice break from the heat and sometimes I actually get more done when it’s yucky weather outside. šŸ™‚ Yesterday I did laundry, brunch with Mom, Petco, Costco, and a wonderful 6:00 PM class at Powerflow. Not too shabby for a Sunday!

With that being said, I wanted to share a “Before, Middle, and After (which will come in a few months)” story with all of you! This is a client of mine (who would like to remain anonymous), who is not only dedicated, hard working, and optimistic, but has become a amazing friend of mine through his weight loss journey. I would train him through on-line workouts. Each week, I would send him 2 circuit training workouts that would range from 1-2 hours (depending on how much time he has that week or day). I would vary the workouts between full body, upper, lower, and core. The best part about training him, is that he was so open minded to anything I would send his way. No complaining!

He shares his story with all of you below. šŸ™‚

About 2 years ago I took a long hard look at myself and realized I could not keep living the way I was living. I was the heaviest I had ever been in my entire life and I was starting to have some health issues. My blood pressure was going up and I was on the edge of diabetes.

In the words of my doctor, if I didn’t get my weight under control I was going to have much bigger medical problems. I joined a new gym and over the space of a year I lost 45lbs, lowered my blood pressure and radically improved blood chemistry. Eventually I reached a point where I plateaued. From what I have read plateauing is very common when you lose a lot of weight.

Regardless I had been plateaued for a long time with my weight. I have tried all kinds of things to break the plateau and nothing worked. In April of this year I decided to work with Katie and hoped that she could help me.

She spoke with me in depth about what I wanted to achieve, whether I had any medical issues that she should be aware of and anything else that might impede my workouts with her. After talking with her and explaining that I wanted to break my plateau and not get any larger she put together a program for me which consisted of intense circuit training.

In my opinion and depending on your goals (which in my case was to get leaner), women trainers are better than male trainers because they are focused on being “fit” and being lean as opposed to being body builder big. Many men make the mistake of assuming that because a trainer is a woman that she is not capable of getting a man fit. This is a huge mistake. In Katie’s case she is a former college athlete and competes in athletic events such as marathons.Ā  She is more than capable of getting ANYONE fit!

My very first session scared me a bit. In the past I have done little to no circuit training so this was all new to me. With her circuit training there are little to no breaks and she will push you very hard at times. This is exactly what I wanted. Katie explained to me what she wanted me to do in detail and said if I have any questions to ask. She emphasized that I should use lighter weight as I am going to be doing a much higher number of repetitions.

For example the first session consisted of 3 rounds of circuits interrupted by cardio sprints. Here was the first session:

15 minute warmup followed by the circuit:

  • Part 1: 4 different exercises with each exercise done for 1 full minute, 6 minutes on the stair master.
  • Part 2: 4 different exercises with each exercise done for 1 full minute, 6 minutes on the stair master.
  • Part 3: 5 different exercises with each exercise done for 1 full minute, 6 minutes on the stair master.

2 minute break, than repeat parts 1-3.

I burned about 1400 calories in the first session. That’s a lot of calories!Ā  Each week I did 2 sessions with Katie and the days I wasnt with Katie I worked out by myself doing 45-60 minutes of cardio. After about a month I could actually see my body starting to change. I started to get leaner and more cut.

Since I have started with her I continue to get leaner and the over all shape of my body continues to change. The workouts are never the same but are purposeful and challenging. Her workouts have been a unique combination of circuit weight and cardio training. Katie is the kind of trainer that encourages you to work hard and push yourself to your goals.

There are some interesting side effects, I have some joint problems which are a result of years of abuse. As time went on my joints have actually improved due to the nature of the circuits. You really cant put a price on pain relief with no medication.

I thank Katie for helping to break my plateau and at the same helping me to improve my joints! Fitness is clearly not just a job for her and she is committed to her clients. Working with her has given me insight, motivation and a new body.

-Client name private

Have you ever tried online training? Do you have a personal trainer?

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Anonymous #

    What a wonderful testimonial….good for him and he sounds really happy that he found Katie….since I’m lucky enough to have her at the house all the time, I guess I should be able to lose the weight and tone up too…alberta

    August 15, 2011
  2. THis is such an amazing story! Thanks for sharing! I’m really glad KAtie could help you in such a positive way!! I’ve never tried online training before but it sounds like it’s working for you! Might be something I’ll consider in the future!

    August 16, 2011
  3. such a great story I havent tried online training but I love workout videos so I am sure it would work for me!

    August 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

