Skip to content

WIAW

How is it almost the third week of August? And where did summer go? I feel like this month has just been slipping through my fingers. I have so many great projects to tackle, events to compete in, and great posts coming this month. I’m not going to lie, but I had serious writer’s block this past week and just wasn’t in the mood to write. But, I’m back with some new recipes, a “before & after”, my training schedule, and a review of my LOVE for Powerflow Yoga studio in Chatham! 🙂

With that being said, let’s talk about FOOD and what I’ve been eating these days. I’ve been training HARD and my meals have been keeping me fueled and filled. I’ve come SO SO SO far this past year with my eating. One thing I do need to work on…Fueling up for long bike rides. Still trying to tackle this one! Below is what I ate on Wednesday. My workout included a 33 minute run along with a 1 hour of Hot Yoga. Holy hip openers!

Breakfast: Protein Pancake (Inspired by Oxygen Magazine)

  • 4x egg whites
  • 1 scoop Whey Chocolate Protein
  • 1x diced nectarine
  • 1 “heaping” T Crazy Richard’s Crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/2 tbs chia seeds
  • dash of cinnamon

Lunch: “Big Old Salad”

  • Lettuce, tomatoes, red onion, zucchini, cucumber, and mushrooms
  • 4x slices turkey breast
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1/3 c Cowgirl bean mixture
  • Dressing: Balsamic Vinegar & Mustard
  • 1x T flaxseed
  • Seasoned with oregano, red pepper flakes, and pepper

Snack: Protein Cherry Smoothie

  • 1 scoop Whey Chocolate Protein
  • 1/2 c frozen cherries
  • 1/4 avocado (if you haven’t tried this in your smoothies, you NEED to)
  • 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 6x ice cubes

Dinner: Salmon Tostada

  • 4 oz grilled salmon
  • Sauteed spinach and red onion
  • fresh mozzarella
  • 1/4 c chickpeas
  • 1x diced tomato
  • 1x Whole Wheat 110 calorie wrap
  • Topped with mango salsa, sour cream, and chives

Tomorrow is my day off from training….High-Fives! Oh how I have come to embrace my days off. They are simply wonderful. 🙂 With that being said, I hope everyone has a wonderful rest of the week and talk on Friday!

What is your favorite ingredient to put in your smoothies?

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hey Katie…. we love smoothies in our house. It is the choice for breakfast on school mornings! Two of our favorites are chocolate peanut butter (milk, chocolate protein powder, peanut butter, flax seeds and crushed ice). Another favorite in mango/pineapple (pineapple juice, frozen mango, flax seeds, greek yogurt and crushed ice). The kids love them and don’t know they are fueling up something good! Love reading your blog…very inspiring and yummy! Good luck with your training!
    Your long lost cousin….Anna

    August 11, 2011
  2. Oooh, I want your salad for lunch!
    I have been loving greek yogurt in smoothies lately.

    August 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

