Skip to content

Random Stuff…Literally!

Happy Hump Day Everyone! I hope that everyone is having a good week and staying on track with their eating and fitness goals that you have set for yourself. So far, I’ve been sticking to mine and feeling good. The Yoga class & leg workout I did on Monday left me quite sore on Tuesday. Thanks Naomi at One Fit Foodie! I was not only the only female in the “lifting section”, but I was soaking wet with sweat and was getting funny looks from the men. 🙂 Yes, I’m doing squat jumps and yes my legs look awesome!

I was going to do a post on What I Ate on Wednesday, but I decided to do something different and talk about 3 totally random things that I LOVE.

Green Monster Smoothie: I have made this combination a few times in the past week and I absolutely love it. It’s perfect for these hot, humid summer afternoons, when prepping a scramble or big salad really isn’t going to cool you down. Sweet and crunchy, this smoothie keeps me full for a good solid 3 hours. My combination includes:

  • 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1/4 tsp xanthum gum
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 3/4 c frozen cherries
  • 3/4 c Nature’s Path Pumpkin Flax Plus Granola

Grocery Shopping: Yes call me weird, but I enjoy going to Costco and loading up on gigantic cartons of blueberries and strawberries, Almond Butter jars, and Greek yogurt! I did end up going to the grocery store yesterday because I was VERY low on vegetables and fruit, so to the store I went. I have noticed a big change in what I purchase at the store these days. A few years ago, I would buy lots of pasta, packaged foods, and lots of fatty meats. But now, after much experimentation, and learning about how to fuel my body, this is what my fridge looks like now:

  • Red Peppers
  • Spinach, Broccoli, Zucchini, Squash, Tomatoes, Lettuce
  • Greek Yogurt
  • Avocados
  • Peaches, Plums, Blueberries, Melon
  • Whole Wheat Tortillas
  • Greek yogurt
  • Almond Butter, Limes, Lemon, Salsa (on the side of the door)

Leg Workouts: I don’t know what the deal is, but lately I cannot get enough with lifting legs. I’m actually craving it. HA! Maybe it’s my body telling me that you better have strong legs for that 100 mile bike ride you’ll be doing. My body as usual is probably right. Lately I’ve been incorporating a lot more plyometric movements (even though I hate them), I like how they get my HR up, they scorch calories, and they tone the entire core. I find these two supersets to be the most challenging:

  • 1-Arm Kettlebell Swings (15 on each arms)
  • 1-Minute Squats (Bodyweight)
  • Step-Ups with Dumbbells (15 each leg)
  • Mountain Climbers (60)

And of course yoga, helps with the stretching and toning. Now that I’ve recommitted myself to yoga this month, I love the way it has been stretching my hamstrings and opening my hips and shoulders. This is usually the places where I am the most tight and will carry my stress. So is yoga 3 times a week helping…YES!


What are your 3 favorite things this summer?

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great list of random goodies! I also love Nature’s Path pumpkin flax cereal/granola. It’s so filling, but I could still eat a big ole’ bowl of it. I’m also a fan of step ups. They burn in all the right places!

    August 3, 2011
  2. I can tell you my least favorite..getting injured! I can’t seem to understand why this happens to me! I got injured last year in my back and have since recovered but now it’s my shoulder. Ug. I can’t wait to learn MORE about fitness and proper technique and training through studying for my PT!

    August 3, 2011
  3. ps. you look awesome!

    August 3, 2011
  4. I loveee granola & smoothies together!

    August 5, 2011
  5. I have not had nearly enough smoothies (or fresh juice) this summer and I have no idea why! I haven’t even had a green monster!! Need to change that asap!

    August 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

