Skip to content

My Friends ROCK

What is the longest amount of time that you’ve gone without TV or the Internet? For me it was one whole week and I actually kind of enjoyed it.  I can honestly say, I had no idea what was going on in the world and it was very peaceful. I did a lot of reading, brain storming, planting, and organizing of my new apartment. If anything, I missed the Internet more, because so much of what I do involves on-line marketing. But it was a nice break and I’m back with lots of workouts, recipes, and another on-line testimonial.

So now onto the good stuff…My good friend Lauren Anderson recently sent me a delicious slow cooker recipe, but she more importantly KILLED her first triathlon this summer!

Boulder Peak Triathlon:

  • 1.5K Swim: 33:05
  • 42K Bike: 1:30:45
  • 10K Run: 57:13
  • Total Time: 3:07:16

So this post is dedicated to her and her hard work! Yes, my friends ROCK and Lauren has been such an important person in my life, even though she is all the way on the west coast. She has helped me in so many ways with my personal and professional life. Thank goodness for Gmail Chat! I also want to share one of Lauren’s healthy recipes. She made this over a week ago and wanted to post it as soon as I got back on the Internet. Lauren is a great cook and a few of her recipes have even been featured in Oxygen Magazine. This is a great meal to prepare on a Sunday and have the leftovers during the week. Try it out and let me know your thoughts! Enjoy!

“I will never buy a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store again and neither will you after making this recipe! This easy whole chicken in the slow cooker recipe will leave you with falling of the bone chicken you can put on salads, wrap in a whole grain tortilla for lunch, or toss with your favorite pasta dish for extra protein. And there will be plenty of leftovers for work week lunches.” -Lauren Anderson

Whole Chicken in the Slow Cooker

  • 1 3-4 pound whole chicken, giblets removed
  • 1 white onion
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 ribs celery
  • 2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning blend
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

  • Quarter onion, carrot, and celery ribs and place in bottom of slow cooker.
  • Mix seasonings together in a small bowl. Loosen the skin by gently pulling up on the skin near the cavity of the chicken and working your fingers to loosen around the breasts. Rub seasoning mixture on top of chicken as well as underneath the skin.
  • Cover and cook on low for 6 hours.

  • When ready to serve, remove chicken from slow cooker, discard skin, and pull the chicken off the bone using your fingers or two forks.

You can experiment with the seasonings by using a fajita seasoning, a Cajun seasoning, or a combination of thyme or sage. I shredded and mixed mine with a little basil pesto (healthy fats) and served it over zucchini noodles topped with fresh cherry tomatoes, marinara, fresh parmesan cheese, and crushed red pepper flakes. And for lunch the next day I again mixed some of the leftovers with more basil pesto and threw it on top of a salad. Enjoy!

What is your favorite slow cooker recipe? I’m a huge fan of the slow-cooker and would love to try some new dishes, so please send this way! 😉

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. go lauren!!! thats awesome. And welcome back! you seem to be enjoying life and thats so cool to here. Love it!

    July 18, 2011
  2. what an awesome simple recipe and yay for lauren!!

    July 18, 2011
  3. I always put my slow cooker away in the summer but this gives me reason to bust it out!

    July 18, 2011
  4. Lauren #

    This is so sweet :-D. Thank you!

    July 19, 2011
  5. LOVE Lauren 🙂 Super impressive tri times!

    July 19, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Cool as a cucumber. « Newest Obsession
  2. Dealing With Burnout « Newest Obsession

Leave a Reply

