Skip to content

Running and Eating…2 of my favorite things!

Two gorgeous days in a row…High-Fives! It is so nice to see the sun shining, the birds chirping, and lots of deep blue sky. I’m honestly sick of talking about the weather, so that’s my last comment about it. 🙂 I hope everyone has been having a good week. I’ve been swamped with clients, training hard, and just plugging along.

Today I wanted to share with you a “food-recap” as to how I fuel myself on a long run training day, along with a day of being on my feet for 6 hours. I trained 6 clients yesterday back to back, so I needed serious energy filled food and what I ate yesterday did the job! I also received these lovely gifts in the mail from Courtney McGregor from Wildtree yesterday when I came back from my run! Courtney is one of my on-line training clients and we have also partnered together to help promote her Wildtree products. If you want to place an order or have any questions, you can click on this link: Courtney McGregor! I cannot wait to incorporate the “Strawberry & Dark Chocolate Jam” into my oats…It sounds heavenly!

I hadn’t run in a whole week, because I wanted to give my knee plenty of rest. This was hard to do, but I held out and hit the pavement for my usual 7 1/2 mile loop. Physically it wasn’t one of my best runs, but time wise I killed it. My knee started hurting pretty early on and it was all I could think about. The pain would come and go and would mainly hurt going downhill. So when I started tackling the hills near my house and glanced down at my watch, I was going faster than I had anytime before…HA! I finished the run in 55:45 minutes. WOW! Great time, but not so good feeling in my knee. Time to give it some more rest, do lots of stretching, and maybe start thinking about more road biking this summer. I woke up and could definitely feel some pain still. Argghhh!

So let’s talk food…

Breakfast:

  • 1/2 c Quaker Oats
  • 1 1/2 cups diced fresh strawberries
  • 1 T almond butter
  • Dash of vanilla and cinnamon

Lunch:

  • 2 scrambled eggs
  • 1 heaping handful of fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup of corn
  • 1 diced red bell pepper
  • onion
  • 1/4 slice avocado
  • 1 T flaxseed
  • Seasoned with: cilantro, red pepper, and pepper

Smoothie:

(Oxygen Magazine inspired with a couple of changes)

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 1 scoop whey protein
  • 1 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/8 t xanthum gum (3rd day using this and I’m in love)

Dinner and Dessert:

  • 4 ounces of grilled salmon
  • 1 c broccoli
  • Salad: cranberries, tomato, onion, balsamic vinegar and oil
  • Leftover birthday cake!!! Delicious!

I felt fully satisfied after today’s meals, considering how active I was, so this was a good feeling. Lately I’ve been struggling with making sure I’m consuming enough calories on a daily basis, since I’m training so hard both personally and professionally. This was a good day.

Do you make sure to rest your body when you are experiencing an injury or do you motor through it? What is your summer smoothie of choice?

One Comment Post a comment
  1. oh man, smoothies are m sanctuary right now. I have at least 2 a day! love the fresh fruit and protein.

    May 26, 2011

Leave a Reply

