Skip to content

Superhero 1/2 Marathon RECAP

I am so excited to share with all of you the recap of Sundays Superhero 1/2 Marathon here in Morristown, NJ! Despite the gloomy weather, the race was a blast! It was a fun course, great volunteers, tons of people dressed in costume, and it was a personal record for ME! I haven’t done a 1/2 marathon in 5 years (oh my gosh, I cannot believe it has been that long) and this was the first event that I didn’t have a set training schedule. I’m usually such a planner and decided that I would just go into this with the goal of trying to maintain a 8 minute mile. Yes, I have been training in the gym and yoga studio on a regular basis, but I wasn’t running further than 8 miles for my long runs. I figured this would be a good race to see how I do, what I need to improve on, and how many 1/2 marathons I realistically want to tackle this summer/fall.

At 3:00 AM on Sunday morning, I woke up to it raining cats and dogs outside and needless to say was kind of full panic to think that I might have to run in the downpour in only 5 and 1/2 hours. I fell back asleep and realized it was totally out of my control and I was running either way. Alarm clock went off at 6:30 AM. 2 cups of coffee and a BIG bowl of Quaker Oats, with a apple, and of course a heaping T of Crazy Richard’s Crunchy PB, and I was full, nervous, and ready to rock! ๐Ÿ™‚ I usually always eat a bowl of oats before any long run. Before my 8 mile runs, I always have 1/2 c of oats. Before runs longer than 10 miles, I do my usual 1/2 c plus 1/4 cup and it is the perfect amount to give me a sustained amount of energy. Love it!

My friends Lauren (she has shared multiple recipes on this blog..delicious) and her husband Rob picked me up at 8:00 AM and we were ready to rock! Parking was easy, the music was pumping, and a ton of people showed up despite the weather. I was most excited by the fact that it had stopped raining. I admit that when it comes to running inย ย ย  the rain, I usually choose not to do it. I’m a pansy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Race started at 8:30 AM and we were off. I put on my head phones and started running. The tunes were rocking (Pit Bull on Pandora was my choice for the run), I was light on my feet, my legs felt great, belly was full, and I was just going and going and going…As we passed mile 5, I glanced down at my watch to see my heart rate and also noticed that I was flying! I was way under a pace of 8:00 minute miles. I was PSYCHED! After seeing this and realizing how good I felt, I knew I could nail this race. From that moment on, I was unstoppable. I was in the zone and nothing was going to slow me down. Love that feeling!ย 

Before I knew it, I was coming to the last 1/2 mile and I spotted my Mom from a mile away. It was so good to see her! There is nothing better than having the ones you love out there in the yucky weather cheering you on!ย  I rounded the second turn and was pumping my arms and pushing my legs. I was in a full sprint and embracing everything around me. Yep, this is why I love this!


Results:

  • Bib Number: 1030
  • Sex Age: F/32
  • Time: 1:39:55.05
  • Pace: 7:37.6
  • Chip Time: 1:39:40.66
  • Chip Pace: 7:36.54
  • Gender Place25/657
  • Age Group Place: F30-39: 7/237
  • Masters Age PLP: 66.00

I couldn’t be more happy with this race and seriously had a runner’s high until Monday morning! I was also so happy for Lauren as well. This was her first 1/2 and she not only looked great as Wonder Woman, but finished in 2:10! High-Fives Lauren!

Running is my passion and I do it for so many reasons, but this race was a great way to start off the summer with family, friends, and start training for upcoming races. Thank you for all of your support on Facebook, Twitter, and e-mail! Stay dry this week! I’m actually contemplating getting outside and running in the rainy weather….HA!

What is your favorite 1/2 Marathon to participate in and why?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. What a great race you had! Excited to see what the rest of the spring/summer brings for you!

    May 18, 2011
  2. giorgio #

    WOW! In the top 3.8%, gender place, and the top 2.9% age group place. That’s pretty astounding Kathleen Lucille! I eat Quaker Oats too…but I don’t get the same results:o(

    May 18, 2011
  3. awesome!! So glad it finally stopped raining too. Love your passion and your smile.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    May 18, 2011
  4. CONGRATS omg what an amazing accomplishment!! you must have felt so awesome afterwards!! its so great to have a passion isnt it?!?!

    up next–a full?!?!

    May 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

