Skip to content

My Love for Greek Yogurt!

Happy Friday the 13th! Today is the first day in over a week that the sun wasn’t shining when I woke up this morning. Pretty amazing for Jersey considering our track record this winter and spring. Anyway, it is Friday, the weekend is here and I am running a 1/2 Marathon on Sunday! YIKES! The weather forecast is supposed to be 70 degrees with thunderstorms. I’m hoping this isn’t true, but it is totally out of my control. HA! I’m aiming to keep a steady pace of 8 minute miles…so we’ll see. Like my good friend Lindsay Cotter, I also get very anxious with setting goals. I just want to see how I do, enjoy the run, and then figure out what I need to improve on for the upcoming races this summer!

Let’s talk about Greek yogurt! This has been my choice of breakfast the past couple of weeks and lately I cannot seem to get enough of it. I LOVE it! I find myself having a bowl of it three times a week. This is a big change for me since I used to eat oatmeal 4 times a week. Do we need to discuss the nutritional benefits of Greek yogurt or should we just talk about our favorite combos? 😉 I will also be honest and say that I love both Fage and Chobani. It honestly depends if one is on sale and what kind of Greek yogurt mood I’m in. So, I support both!

Greek Yogurt Breakfast usually entails:

  • 1 c Greek Yogurt
  • 1 c fresh berries or 1 diced apple
  • 1 T Crazy Richard’s Crunchy Peanut Butter (Ammmaaaazzziiiinnnggg!)
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Dash of vanilla

This is my breakfast this AM and cannot wait to dig in! I have to fuel up before my last run before Sunday. Today I am going to run for almost 4.5 miles at a nice easy pace, since I am feeling a little stiff and slightly sluggish. Tomorrow I think I may walk the dogs, depending on the weather, and then rest up for Sunday. Looking forward to the challenge and the overall experience of running events. They have such great energy!


Have a wonderful weekend and talk soon!

What is your favorite Greek yogurt breakfast combo? I need to get more creative and would love to hear your suggestions!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. good luck this weekend! have a BLAST and just enjoy the miles made.
    😉

    May 13, 2011
  2. Lauren #

    My mid-morning snack today was La Fage with fresh blueberries, a scoop of flaxseeds, and a dash of cinnamon. Not super creative, but delicious!

    May 13, 2011
  3. Lauren #

    Another fave combo is La Fage with sliced banana, Crazy Richard’s Peanut Butter (thank you for introducing me to this amazingly healthy and delicious brand!), a dash of cinnamon, and a drizzle of honey.

    May 13, 2011
  4. Jocelyn Ege #

    Greek yogurt is my morning ritual. Favorite combo is chobani plain or vanilla yogurt with 2 tbsp raw almond butter (i like thats its crunchy!), 2 tbsp ground flaxseed and 1 cup fresh raspberries. mmm delicious

    May 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

