Skip to content

Backyard Workout…

Another gorgeous morning in New Jersey! I just checked the weekly forecast and it looks like it is supposed to be perfect all the way through Sunday. High-Fives to that, especially since I’m running the Superhero 1/2 Marathon on Sunday morning…This is the first race that I have not stuck to a set training schedule, which is so not like me. I didn’t want to put any pressure on myself and since I’ve been training hard and eating well, I figured let’s just wing it and see how it goes. 🙂 My goal is to do 3 1/2 marathons before fall!

With the weather being so AMAZING, I figured this is a good week to train outdoors, since I spend all afternoon and evening in the gym. If you haven’t figured it out already, I crave sunshine. So hitting the pavement and doing circuits in the backyard is what this weeks workouts are all about. Oh and of course at least one yoga class at powerflow! 😉 I need to get some serious stretching in before the race on Sunday.

Yesterday morning I tackled a 4.5 mile run down the country roads of New Jersey after eating a delicious bowl of oats. I have recently cut back on my oatmeal intake, but I make sure that I have a nice hearty bowl before long runs and long days at work. It is the one breakfast meal that keeps me full for a little over 3 hours. This bowl was delicious and as usual, I never wanted it to end!

Breakfast:

  • 1/2 c Quaker Oats
  • 1 T (heaping) almond butter
  • 1 c fresh sliced strawberries

After my run, I grabbed the 10 lbs dumbbells and did a 30 minute circuit that you can do inside or outside, so NO EXCUSES! I got my heart rate up, my muscles were burning, and I was sweating…all signs of a successful quick at-home circuit! Try it out sometime this week and feel free to e-mail me with any questions or concerns. I love hearing from you!

Perform 2 sets of each circuit. 20 repetitions. 1-Minute rest between circuits. Equipment: 10lbs dumbbells and your body!

  • Squats with dumbbells
  • Reverse lunges with dumbbells
  • Plies with dumbbells
  • Bent over dumbbell row
  • Hammer curl with dumbbells
  • Shoulder press with dumbbells
  • Squat Jumps
  • Mountain Climbers (60 repetitions)
  • Plank: 1-Minute
  • Fire Hydrant
  • Donkey Kick
  • Renegade Row
  • Triceps Kickback
  • Frontal Raise

Do you prefer to train outside or inside? 🙂

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. love that you can take this outside, maybe I’ll use it tomorrow for my class!

    May 10, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Let me know how it goes if you use it for your class! I would love the feedback! Two workouts outdoors this week and LOVING IT! Yoga tomorrow AM and then preparing for the 1/2 Marathon on Sunday. 🙂 How are you doing girl? Training for any races this summer? xoxo

      May 11, 2011
  2. love the workout lady! I am ALL about outdoor workouts in the summer and cannot wait to hit up the track! 🙂

    May 11, 2011
    • Kathleen #

      Track workouts? Wow! I am looking forward to seeing some of these if you post them. How’s the balancing coming along in your life? Have a great evening and Happy Early Hump Day!

      May 11, 2011
  3. Jocelyn Ege #

    LOVE this one, its a regular in my at-home routines! Glad you are getting some sun, wish we were!

    May 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

