Skip to content

Good Food, Good Friends, Good Weekends!

I’m just going to come out and say that it was a pretty darn good weekend! The weather was gorgeous, the food and wine delicious, and the company of new friends and old friends was even better. 🙂 When I woke up on Sunday morning, I was excited to see the sun shining, but also looking forward to getting back on the “eating well wagon”! I did some damage this weekend, but hey it happens, I enjoyed it, had fun, and I’m not going to beat myself up over it. Life is too short to not enjoy good food.

After a long walk with a good friend and the two dogs, I decided to hit up the supermarket, grab my food items for the week and cook up some healthy recipes. The muffin recipe is one that Jocelyn makes on a regular basis and the spaghetti squash recipe is something that I threw together at the last minute. Both are delicious and I cannot wait to have my leftover spaghetti squash this week. Not sure what to throw in there, but I’ll get creative. Thinking it maybe my substitute for salads….

PB and Banana Muffins (adapted from recipe by Jessica Seinfeld)

1/2 c. light brown sugar
1 cup Krema Smooth & Creamy Natural Peanut Butter
2 large bananas
1 large egg
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
Preheat oven to 350 and coat muffin pan with non stick spray.  Combine brown sugar, bananas, egg and peanut butter in a bowl and mix well.  In a serperate bowl or large ziploc bag, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  I also add 2 heaping tablespoons of ground flax seed at this point.  Mix dry ingredients together and then pour slowly into wet ingredients. Stir to combine, pour into muffin pans until they are half way full (should make 12) and bake for about 15 mins.  Yum – o, especially great for early morning drive to mountains!
Spaghetti Squash (by Me)

1 cup cooked spaghetti squash
4 ounce chicken breast diced and seasoned with salt and pepper
5 diced mushrooms
2 garlic cloves
1/4 c roasted red peppers
1/4 c crushed tomatoes
2 T of basil
Red Pepper Flakes to garnish
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Slice the spaghetti squash and remove the seeds. Place on a baking sheet and heat in the oven for 45 minutes. While squash is cooking, heat up a skillet on high heat. Spray with cooking spray and cook the chicken for two minutes on each side. Add the mushrooms, garlic, roasted red peppers, and crushed tomatoes and cook for another 2 minutes. Take the spaghetti squash out of the oven and use a fork to scrape out the insides. Place on a plate and pour the chicken mixture over the top. Dinner is served!
What are you cooking up this week for lunch? Did you try something new this weekend whether it be a recipe, new fitness class, new restaurant?
3 Comments Post a comment
  1. hey lady!! love those muffins, they look so good and obviously with teh krazy richards PB in there, how can they NOT be amazing?!?!

    I had whole wheat pizza with spinach, chicken and brocolli this weekend and it was uhhhmazing!!!

    February 28, 2011
    • I love love love pizza! Where did you get the whole wheat dough from? I totally fell off the wagon in so many ways this weekend, so cooking two healthy meals in one evening was just what I needed to get back on track. Heading to hot yoga and then cardio later before work to jump start this day. I hope you are doing well and your competition training is coming along well! Can’t wait to hear about it. Talk soon!

      February 28, 2011
  2. I love your attitude about food. I watch what I eat all week and on the weekend I give myself the pleasure of having a good guilt free meal of whatever I want. This way of eating has worked for me for over 30 years. I’m in my 50s now, and I’m leaner and stronger than I was in my 20s.

    March 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

