Skip to content

Product Review: Life’s Basics Plant Protein

Wow this week has been quite busy! I cannot believe it is already Friday, but I’m also really excited that it is Friday! 🙂 After starting my job a few months ago, I was working six days a week and came to the conclusion this week, that I can no longer do that. I am no spring chicken and I realized that if I don’t take time to myself, I am going to get burned out and not love what I do anymore. Not a good thing in my opinion. Plus, this is a time in my life, when I need to have fun, get out, enjoy life, and be selfish (in a good way of course). Money is money, but being happy, healthy, and staying sane is more important!

Now that I got that off my chest, I am so excited to review Life’s Basics Plant Protein, that was recommended to me by my good friend Lindsay Cotter. I have been on the prowl for a good protein powder for a while and what better person to reach out to then Lindsay. Being that she is a nutritionist and we have very similar training regimens, I knew she would be a great resource. Being that I am on my feet for most of the afternoon/evening, a protein shake is a perfect way for me to quickly re-fuel. I also don’t like to eat in front of my clients while I’m training them, because I think it is rude and not professional. At least with a protein shake, I can educate them on the importance of incorporating one into their diet, the benefits, recipes, etc. It’s a great conversation piece. They are always fascinated. 🙂

Lindsay recommended a couple of protein powders to me, but she spoke very highly of Life’s Basics Plant Protein. I ordered away and within days I have 18.6 ounce tub on my doorstep. I’ve made 3 different shakes this week (recipes below) and LOVE THIS! You know you have ordered a great product when the list of ingredients are all words that you can pronounce:

  • Pea Protein
  • Isolate
  • Hemp Protein Powder
  • Rice Protein Concentrate
  • Natural Vanilla Flavor
  • Fructose
  • Xylitol: okay this one is a little tough 😉
  • Stevia & Salt

The flavor is great and my shakes have been delicious. More importantly I have felt awesome. This week has been very busy during the evenings and I usually run out of steam pretty quickly. These smoothies have kept me full, focused, and energized. One heaping scoop of this powder has 22 g of Protein! 44% of your daily value! Make sure to check out their website and order a tub for yourself this weekend!

Here are 3 New Smoothie Recipes that I made this week and LOVED:

It’s almost the weekend and I am so looking forward to spending time with friends, a long run, and going to see “The Fighter” on Sunday afternoon. It has been FOREVER since I have gone to the movies. I cannot wait!

What is your favorite protein powder and why? Do you try a lot of different protein powders or just stick with one?

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. heck ya! I love all those combos! especially the avo!! awesome. Hope you get some rest this weekend!
    LC

    February 11, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Product Review: Life’s Basics Plant Protein | -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

