Skip to content

Tuesday Food Recap! Lots of Veggies…

It was not a pretty morning on Tuesday! I woke up and it was snowing, raining, and cold! Welcome back to NJ! Not much you can do, except keep plugging, stay warm, and just go through your day. I’ve come to accept that I have no control over the weather and I won’t let it mess up my day (I had to say that out loud, so I don’t get cranky ;)). With that being said, I tackled my morning with a large French Vanilla DD coffee with Skim Milk and Equal. Love love love their coffee!

About an hour later, I was starving for breakfast and I know it is going to come as a shocker, but it was warm oats. High-Fives! This was a new combination that I tried and it was delicious. It was so good, that I was disappointed to see my bowl become empty.

Ingredients:

Directions: Add water to oats and heat in microwave for 2 minutes. Then add protein powder and strawberries and heat up for an additional minute. Add the peanut butter and mix. The crunchy peanuts add a delicious crunch to the soft oats. 🙂

I will share my workout schedule for the week on Friday’s post! I’ve been training hard both with my weights and cardio and feel great. My healthy eating is definitely helping me power through my workouts and my day.

Lunch was had at work after a pretty intense workout. Salads have been my “go-to” for the past couple of weeks. They make me feel good, energized, and full enough to last me 3-4 hours before I have time for a quick snack. Plus salads have an endless choice of combos. I always make sure they are filled with lots of color, protein, and a healthy fat. I also have been adding a sandwich thin for some fiber and carbs. It works perfectly for me and my schedule.

Ingredients:

  • 3 slices turkey breast
  • 1 T blue cheese crumbles
  • 1 small handful dried cherries
  • 1 handful broccoli
  • Lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, and green peppers with
  • Oil & Balsamic dressing
  • 1 100-Calorie Orowheat Sandwich Thins (these are delicious)
  • Tabasco Sauce
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Snack: I didn’t feel like making a smoothie today, so I just grabbed a bar.

  • Clif Bar Chocolate Chip and Peanut Crunch

Dinner: I had a client until 8:30 PM, so thankfully Mom had prepared a healthy dish for me when I got home. I don’t mind eating late at night, as long as I am fueling my body throughout the day. I always try to eat before 9:00 PM. I won’t go later than that. Usually when I have late dinners, I have lots of protein and vegetables and a limited amount of carbs.

Ingredients:

  • 4 ounces grilled salmon
  • Steamed asparagus & broccoli
  • Salad: Tomatoes, carrots, green peppers, dried cranberries, Oil & Balsamic (I had 2 helpings of salad, because this was not enough to hold me until tomorrow AM)

What is your favorite meal of the day? And what is your favorite ingredient to add to your salads?

One Comment Post a comment
  1. gosh, my favorite meal? Its a tie between breakfast and dinner. Or maybe breakfast should be my dinner, hehe!
    have a great wednesday! Can’t wait to hear how life is!

    January 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

