Skip to content

Barbeque Pulled Chicken = SUCCESS

What a great weekend and of course I cannot believe how quickly it went by! These hot Sorel boots came in the mail on Friday and I absolutely LOVE them. I had to share because they look even better with my Gap socks. 😉 Great purchase because I know I am going to get good use out of these this winter. Even though yesterday was my day off from training, I decided to take Kala for a nice long walk through the woods to get some fresh air, sun, and just loosen up my muscles. Kala had a blast and was so stiff and tired. Trying to get her to loose some holiday weight she put on. HA!

Lindsay from Cotter Crunch sent me this recipe a couple of weeks ago and decided to try it out! Anything in the slow cooker is appealing to me. Easy, budget friendly, healthy, and always good for a lazy Sunday. Needless to say it was delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 1 8-ounce reduced sodium tomato sauce (I just used homemade tomato sauce)
  • 1 4-ounce can chopped green chiles, drained
  • 3 T cider vinegar
  • 2 T honey
  • 1 T sweet or smoke paprika
  • 1 T tomato paste
  • 1 T Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 t dry mustard
  • 1 t ground chile powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 small onion finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced (I used 4, because I love garlic)

Cooking Directions:

  • Stir in tomato sauce, chiles, vinegar, honey, paprika, tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce, mustard, chile powder, and salt in a 6-quart slow cooker until smooth. Add chicken, onion, and garlic; stir to combine.
  • Put the lid on and cook on low for 5 hours.
  • Pull the chicken apart with a fork and put back into the slow cooker and keep warm until ready to serve.

How you want to serve this is totally up to you, so use your imagination! I served this over toasted Italian rolls with chopped green chiles, hot sauce, and some cheese. A simple salad was served on the side.

Week 2 of cooking a new meal on Sunday night: Completed!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. I forgot just how good that recipe is! I like it pita pockets too! Kala is just precious. She would get along great with Sadie, my pups. 🙂

    January 10, 2011
  2. I love those boots!

    January 11, 2011
  3. obssed with those boots and that recipe! i need a crockpot!!!

    January 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

