Skip to content

Foodie Friday with Guest Blogger: An-Li Tsou

High-Fives it is Friday everyone! This morning I woke up to a winter wonderland outside and I am seriously hoping that my clients do not cancel this evening! I have 5 in the calendar and will report tomorrow as to who shows! 🙂

It’s been a while, but FOODIE FRIDAY is back and this Friday, one of my sister’s close friends from college is sharing one of her recipes with the world. 😉 I’m looking forward to posting more recipes from An-Li, because she is a food and wine lover, but also a panda bear lover. HA! I hope that you try out this recipe sometime soon and have a wonderful weekend!

Balsamic Glazed Chicken Breast

This recipe can be found on the food network website; however, I made a couple changes to make it my own.  The original included a whole stick of butter and no mushrooms.  The stick of butter is really not necessary to make the dish taste good and I thought the mushrooms’ was a nice add to the whole dish.

My name is An-Li Tsou and I am currently living in Boston.  I moved out here in May of 2010 from upstate NY and have been here ever since.  Boston is really beautiful and historical.  It’s much calmer than New York City; however, it’s much more difficult to find late night food.  So that leaves me to do more cooking!

I’ve really enjoyed living in my own apartment and making meals in my very own kitchen.  I enjoy cooking for others and myself because it’s fun and relaxing.  I love to see the looks on people’s faces after they’ve taken the first bite from whatever I’ve made that night.  Even if I’m just cooking for myself, it’s very rewarding to sit down after a long day of work with a glass of wine and home cooked meal.

My main food source is rice and any kind of pasta, noodles etc.  I know it’s probably the worst thing for me since rice and pasta are huge carbohydrates, but I can’t help but love them both!  My mother’s Puerto Rican and my father’s Chinese so there really is no escape from Spanish rice to Chinese rice I’m going to have some either way 😉

The ingredients:

-2 thick Boneless Chicken Breasts, 1 cup Red Wine, 3 tbs balsamic vinaigrette, salt & pepper, 1/3 box of cherry/grape tomatoes, ½ box of mushrooms, half Spanish Onion, Italian seasoning, vegetable oil, 4 cloves of garlic sliced thin.

Frying pan & Baking dish

As you can see the ingredients for this recipe are not very difficult to find.  Most of the ingredients you’ll most likely already have right in your own kitchen.

Serving Size:  4 people

**Make sure to cut the cherry/grape tomatoes in halves, half of the Spanish onion into squares, mushrooms into slices and garlic into tiny cubes before cooking the chicken**

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

  1. Slice the chicken breasts into 2 pieces.  Cut off all of the fat and try to make sure the slices are all the same size.  It makes the whole process much easier.
  2. Season both sides of the chicken breasts with some Italian seasoning or DASH garlic and onion seasoning.  You can also add a little salt and pepper to both sides of the chicken breasts for flavor.
  3. Pour the vegetable oil into a frying pan and use just enough oil that it fills the entire pan.  Then wait for both sides turn white.  DO NOT fry it all the way, the rest of it will bake in the oven.
  4. Place chicken breasts into baking dish and put it to the side.
  5. Use the same frying pan and turn it down to a simmer, add the onions, garlic and mushrooms.  Let it start frying and then add the balsamic and red wine to the mix.  Use a pinch of salt and a few pinches of pepper.  You can also add red pepper flakes if you want a little spice in the mix.
  6. Turn down to simmer and let it sit for a couple minutes.  When it looks almost cooked all take the pan off the burner.
  7. Pour the ingredients from the frying pan into the baking dish with the chicken.  Pour it over the chicken so it is even on top and to the sides.
  8. Lastly pour the cherry/grape tomatoes over the baking dish.  Make sure to spread it all out.
  9. Put the chicken breast into the oven for approximately 15 minutes

*you can add any kind of side with this dish, salad, rice, bread etc* I used rice of course! 🙂

Enjoy everybody!!!

What is one of your favorite dishes that your friend, husband, or significant other makes?

One Comment Post a comment
  1. oh I can’t wait to see more recipes from her. I am a good and wine lover myself. This one looks so savory and healthy!
    LC

    January 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

