Skip to content

First New Recipe of the New Year

Happy Monday! How is everyone feeling after the whirlwind of a weekend that was filled with cocktails, lots of hangover foods, couch time, and NCIS marathons? ๐Ÿ˜‰ That’s pretty much how I spent my Saturday, but vowed to be much more productive on Sunday, despite the dreary weather. It’s a New Year, a new week, and new adventures! I’m excited for all that I have going on in the New Year and what I would like to accomplish. As I woke up on Sunday morning, I knew that it was time to start fresh with my diet, workouts, and goals for 2011. A great way to start a new week!

One of my New Year resolutions is to cook one new recipe a week for my Mom and brother! Since I work nights, I am always packing a dinner, but on the weekends, I am claiming Sunday to be my night to try something new. ๐Ÿ™‚ With that being said, I decided to try a recipe I found in the new Fitness Magazine: Smoky Chicken Paprikash.

Ingredients:

  • 4 t canola oil
  • 1 1/4 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs, trimmed and cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1/2 t kosher salt, plus additional to taste
  • 1/4 t pepper, plus additional to taste
  • 2 medium red bell peppers, cored, seeded, and thinly sliced
  • 1 large onion, halved, and thinly sliced
  • 1 T minced fresh garlic
  • 1 T smoked sweet paprika
  • 1/2 c dry white wine
  • 1 c canned crushed tomatoes
  • 1/2 c reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1 t all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 c reduced fat sour cream
  • 2 T minced fresh dill
  • 2 t fresh lemon juice
  • Cooked orzo

Directions:

  • Heat 12 inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat; add 2 teaspoons of the canola oil. Season the chicken with the salt and black pepper; add to the pan. Cook 2-3 minutes to sear. Transfer to a plate.
  • Add remaining oil and the bell peppers and onion to skillet. Saute stirring occasionally, until softened, 6-8 minutes. Add the garlic and paprika; saute until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the wine and cook, stirring frequently, until nearly evaporated, about 2 minutes. Add the tomatoes and chicken broth and bring to a simmer.
  • Return chicken to skillet, reduce heat to medium low and simmer until chicken is just cooked through 2-3 minutes.
  • In a small dish, whisk flour into the sour cream. Slowly add to the sauce and simmer 3 minutes more. Stir in the dill and lemon juice and seaosn to taste with additional salt and black pepper. Serve the chicken over orzo.

Nutrition facts per serving: 325 calories, 32 g protein, 15 g carbohydrates, 13 g fat (3.4 g saturated), 3 g fiber.

This was a hit and liked by all! Whew! Total prep time and cooking took about an hour, but was perfect for a Sunday evening, when there was no rush to whip something together. Monday’s goals are to tackle an 8 mile run, get my nails done, train clients, and start teaching a new class this evening! Wish me luck!

Have you made realistic goals for 2011? What is your favorite New Year’s Resolution that you have set for yourself?

One Comment Post a comment
  1. love the recipe and the goal is even better!
    LC

    January 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

