Skip to content

What fueled me through a long, but good day!

Usually what I want to do on Mondays!

For some reason, Mondays are just flat out BRUTAL and I am usually so happy when I wake up on Tuesday mornings, that it is over! Does anyone else feel this way or am I the only one? DOH! Anyway, Tuesday arrived and I was feeling much better, more alert, and excited that it was the first day of winter, and now the days can slowly start getting longer. 🙂 Always a good thing in my eyes!

With the holidays so very close upon us, temptations of cookies, chocolate, high calorie cocktails, it is very very very easy to fall off the wagon during this time of year! Remember that is all about moderation, portion sizes, and not depriving yourself of the things that you love. This is a time of year to celebrate, but don’t overdo it, because your tummy will regret it when January 2 comes around. Enjoy this time of year with the ones you loved, that glass of wine, and those thumbprint cookies, but try to do it in small doses. 🙂

With that being said, I usually eat my lunch, snack, and dinner all at work, so I’ve become the queen of “meal in a box”. It’s totally fine and has been working well for me and is better than buying my meals. Since I’m usually done with clients at 8, I try to eat right after, so my body has time to digest my meal. This is what I ate yesterday and it was great!

Breakfast:

  • 1 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • 1 Dannon Light & Fit Blueberry yogurt
  • 1 sliced banana

Lunch:

  • 1 100-Calorie Whole Wheat Trader Joe’s Thins
  • 2-3 thin slices roast beef
  • 1 T Trader Joe’s Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
  • lettuce and tomato
  • 1 C baby carrots

Mid-Afternoon Snack:

Dinner:

  • 4-5 ounces of grilled salmon (seasoned with salt, pepper, dill, olive oil)
  • 1 medium diced sweet potato (roasted at 450 degrees for 15 minutes)
  • Sauteed broccoli (seasoned with salt and pepper)

3 Days until Christmas and I am so looking forward to a day filled with family, wonderful friends, lots of laughter, catching up, and of course lots and lots of delicious food! Life is good and I’m so very blessed for what I have and who is in my life! XOXO

What are you doing this holiday season to stay “on track” with your diet and exercise? What tips could you give to other reader’s who are struggling with this?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. oh you better believe I enjoy that wine! hehe. I hope you get some down time soon and feel refreshed after the holidays. 🙂
    LC

    December 22, 2010
  2. Your pup looks so peaceful! I wish I was curled up in a ball napping too LOL!

    December 22, 2010
  3. I like the “small doses” idea. That definitely works. After all, usually a little bit is enough to satisfy when you really think about it.

    December 24, 2010
  4. well since I dont celebrate xmas and dont have those CRAZY holiday parties or dinners lol its not tha thard for me. BUT there are lots of goodies all around, and to be honest I don’t really hold myself back necessarily. If there is something I truly want, then I eat it and enjoy it! I know that one brownie will not hurt me in the least! the main thing is balance and moderation 🙂

    December 24, 2010

Leave a Reply

