Skip to content

Legs Are My Favorite Training Day

With a new job, schedule, training hours, and the holidays, my lack of posts have been few and far between, but I’m making the effort to come back and at least do 3 posts a week! 🙂 It’s just been amazing how quickly the days and weeks have been going by and really cannot believe that Christmas is this Saturday and New Year’s the week after. Holy cow!

I started off the morning with a delicious bowl of oats. I’ve been varying up my breakfast these past few days between yogurt and oatmeal, and lots of delicious fruits. Pomegranate is awesome in oatmeal. Tangy and crunchy! My morning combination was:

  • Dannon Light & Fit Blueberry
  • 1/2 cup Blackberries
  • 1/2 cup Raspberries
  • 1 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch

Onto my leg workout! Back in the day when I was a field hockey player, I had some pretty honking quads. They were pretty big and I jokingly called them “Quadzilla”! For 4 years playing Division I field hockey, I never owned a pair of jeans, because I couldn’t fit them into any that looked flattering. I’m being 100% serious. My father called me the Tank! Do I need to say more? One of these days I will post a before and after picture of me, so you can see how big I was. 😉

Ten years later though, my legs are very different, stronger, sexier, and my favorite body part to train! I love their strength and how they look in leggings, jeans, and yoga pants. They have come a long way with the help of eating clean, the Stair Master, interval training, and hard workouts. I usually reserve one day for doing straight legs and another one that is usually incorporated with circuit training. The workout I posted below took about 45 minutes and was followed after a 30 minute treadmill workout that was a combination of: hills, speed walking, and sprinting! Try this out sometime this week and please feel free to e-mail me with any questions you may have:

Perform 3 sets of 15-20 repetitions with a 1-2 minute rest after each circuit:

  • Kettle Ball Swings
  • Reverse Lunge with DB’s
  • Jumping Jacks: 30
  • Barbell Squat
  • DB Deadlift
  • Squat Jumps
  • Step-Up with DB’s
  • Plies with Plate
  • Leg Curl with Stability Ball
  • Bridge with Stability Ball
  • Fire Hydrant
  • Donkey Kick
  • Mountain Climbers: 60 Total

What is your favorite body part to train and why?

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. oh great pic! you look gorgeous! I love training my arms. Biceps are my favorite, yes i m the only one that likes pull ups and 21’s!

    December 20, 2010
  2. nice workout and sexy pic girl!!! haha my legs used to be quadzillas too!! diet diet diet! thats what worked for me to trim the legs and keep them lean…and proper rest and form! 🙂

    that workout looks awesome! i love that you combine cardio with weights for the legs…gotta love those plyos!

    My favorite body part to work is shoulders and chest! I have to say I am not a fan of leg day! haha

    December 21, 2010

Leave a Reply

