Skip to content

I Love Reading About Athletes!

She Rocks Fitness is apologizing ahead of time for not posting John Alvino’s workout from last night! I will do it before Thanksgiving. I PROMISE! Today has gone by so quickly and I’ve been running around trying to get my “To-Do” list completed and just want to make sure I spend quality time on it and don’t feel rushed. But I’m glad to report, I’m sore!

As a former athlete, I know I am a little nuts, love competition, training hard, sweating, being yelled at, and being sore! I know this sounds crazy, but it’s what makes me happy.  I love how John’s training has great energy, it’s exhausting, and challenging. No slacking on squat jumps, when he is right there yelling at you! HA!

I promise this is going somewhere! Last night I started reading a new book about the famous New York Yankee player: Mickey Mantle. The name of the book is “The Last Boy” My mom has been a die hard fan since she was a little girl and after she completed the book, I was very interested in reading about an athlete who I never saw play. I want to know “What motivated him?”

I am very fascinated about athletes and what motivates them; how they train; what they eat; what were their struggles, strengths, weaknesses; whether they were naturally gifted athletes or they  just busted their butts all their lives; what goes through their brains; how do they stay focused; and come back from injuries or failure. Athletes are a different breed, especially when they are the best at what they do. It’s truly fascinating, because I always think about what motivates me to run my hardest, train all those hours, eat healthy, and keep going and going. With that being said, here are my 5 Favorite Books about Athletes. I learned so much about each of them and hope you will pick one of these books up someday.

  1. Open: An Autobiography by: Andre Agassi
  2. It’s Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life: by Lance Armstrong & Sally Jenkins
  3. Every Second Counts: by Lance Armstrong & Sally Jenkins
  4. More Than a Game: by Phil Jackson & Charlie Rosen
  5. Sacred Hoops: Spiritual Lessons of a Hardwood Warrior: by Phil Jackson

Do you enjoy reading about athletes? If so, what is your favorite book?

I love reading and I’m always looking for new ideas, so please send me your thoughts! I hope you all are having a wonderful Tuesday. Not sure about you, but I’m counting the days until the Ultimate Turkey Feast! 🙂

Feel free to contact me a kuhran@sherocksdenver.com or 973-978-7359.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

